It Don't Matter If You're Orc Or Dwarf

Tired of always being on the losing side in BGs? Has Blizzard got a microtransaction page for you!

We wanted to give everyone a very early heads-up that, in response to player requests, we’re developing a new service for World of Warcraft that will allow players to change their faction from Alliance to Horde or Horde to Alliance. There’s still much work to do and many details to iron out, but the basic idea is that players will be able to use the service to transform an existing character into a roughly equivalent character of the opposing faction on the same realm.

20 Responses to It Don't Matter If You're Orc Or Dwarf

  1. geldonyetich says:

    It’s a good thing if players use it to even up the battlefields on servers were one side is sorely outnumbered.

    Unfortunately, my experience is that more players tend to want to join the winning side instead. So my guess on what this will do is that it will result in a lot more servers which are heavy on one side.

    Then again, who’s to say that outright server-to-server transfers (which have been in for awhile) haven’t done most of that damage already?

  2. dartwick says:

    smart

    I hopee they have enough sense to charge a lot.

  3. Raad says:

    This is bad. Like, really bad. It’s like that point in time where you realise your best buddy has betrayed you. AND THERE IS NO GOING BACK UP THE RABBIT HOLE!

  4. Hudson says:

    Jesus H Christ…is there nothing sacred anymore? Why not just give people level 80 characters

  5. Athryn says:

    I wonder if I can convince my entire guild to flip to horde. My server has a huge alliance to horde ratio, and I’d love to not be part of the problem anymore.

  6. Daniel says:

    @Hudson

    Yes. I think that’s what they should be doing. The need to figure out how to sell more expansions and they keep coming up with gimmicks like faster leveling and now race changes. Why? It’s a wasted effort. Just sell characters at the level cap and put those developer resources into creating new content.

    I really and truly don’t understand where Blizzard is coming from here. What do they fear. Death by a thousand cuts is still death. Cut to the chase and get it over with.

  7. Jeremy T says:

    Hudson :
    Jesus H Christ…is there nothing sacred anymore? Why not just give people level 80 characters

    If only they would, maybe I’d re-up my subscription…

    The forced segregation based on server is bad, but they’ve allowed you to bypass that for a while now. With this change you’ll finally be able to meet up with your friends wherever they happen to be, and that’s quite a big deal.

    It’s good for the players, and it’s good for the game. It’s just the sort of player friendly change WoW needs.

  8. Ingmar says:

    Hudson :
    Jesus H Christ…is there nothing sacred anymore? Why not just give people level 80 characters

    Out of curiosity, why are these comparable? They don’t seem very similar to me at all.

  9. geldonyetich says:

    Hudson :
    Jesus H Christ…is there nothing sacred anymore? Why not just give people level 80 characters

    What – and put the real money traders out of business? 😉

  10. Angelworks says:

    Its just a game – why does any one really care? Personally I think the factions need to be owned by the players, and not set in stone.

    I never could figure that out in WoW. My alliance toon can talk to Tauren, Orc, and even Undead quest givers/trainers/vendors (typically npc’s that will talk to either faction) but no matter how long I play I can’t talk to real players playing the same races? Plus my Darenai Shaman came from Draenor right – where she lived among the orcs, but can’t speak orcish.

  11. Gx1080 says:

    First, it has been proved that if you let opposite players talk to each other, they will start saying bad words to each other. Good in EVE Online, Age fo Conan, DarkFall, etc, but not cool in the +12 WoW.

    Second, if server transfers already happens, side changes dont matter that much, I mean, not many people will expend money in that, just as not many people expend money in server transfers or sex changes. Yes its a considerable number, but its not the majority for a long shot.

    In short, its not that important.

    About the “get chars level 80 form the get go” …i dont think that they will do it. That means a lot of content (not counting dungeons), without any use aka it will be erased. And a chopped off WoW it doesnt look cool, dont atract people.

    If you could get a char to level 80 by paying money, it would truly suck because there would be created an elite of fresh 80 that would act like they are hot shit and gank the few guys that level their chars. Those fresh 80 wouldnt know jack about their class, or even the game of course which would make almost all dungeons more painful than the worst PuG imaginable. Forums would be a turmoil and it would be a mess. Thats why they try to keep around the same time in getting to the level cap at least once.

  12. VorpalK says:

    If PvP mattered to me at all, I guess i would care. Fortunately it doesn’t.

    I look forward to several more years of “tough guys” on my PvE server whining about how world PvP is dead.

    And I look forward even more to playing LoTRO on my other game where PvP isn’t even an issue (and PvMP will never be a world affecting issue)

  13. Jeff says:

    WoW. I agree with G. Can this end in any other way than the Horde showing up in Arathi Basin one day and finding all the alliance has joined them?

  14. Shannon B says:

    Angelworks :
    Its just a game – why does any one really care?

    This right here has to be the most frequently annoying comment I see on the web. Not just WoW related.

    Seriously, before you say that again, go and read this: http://www.pinkpigtailinn.com/2009/05/merely-wow.html

  15. Angelworks says:

    This right here has to be the most frequently annoying comment I see on the web. Not just WoW related.
    Seriously, before you say that again, go and read this: http://www.pinkpigtailinn.com/2009/05/merely-wow.html

    Ok so the day Blizzard pays me to play WoW like the NFL pays its players to play Football I’d agree, but until then – the worst thing that can happen to any WoW player is your guild wasting time on stupid crap in a raid – that’s not a game, but the rest of it is. They don’t however, and most players aren’t being paid to play wow so why flip out over a decision like this? I’m not planning on switching my shaman to horde – why would I care if someone else did?

    We’re talking about a decision someone can make that affects their own character. At the very most it will affect the pvp balance of a particular realm, or you may lose a guild member, but since realm transfers and pvp realm transfers have been in place – likewise I doubt it will have any affect on how any of us play the game.

    Same with Martin’s Fury – that didn’t affect any of us – it really didn’t – so why does this blogger even give a rip? It is just a game – Blizzard dealt with the problem and life goes on. Cosmically speaking if your fantasy football league sucks, or you didn’t get a drop in Naxx/Ulduar because of crappy loot rules or favoritism – you’ll still be ok. If not – seriously get help. So I stand by it – it’s just a game, and when it stops being that – that is when I stop playing.

    So yes – while there are things out there that this phrase trivializes – none of the examples in the blog post here on the one you linked really apply I think.

  16. JuJutsu says:

    @GX1080
    “First, it has been proved that if you let opposite players talk to each other, they will start saying bad words to each other.”

    Second, it has been proved that if you let same side players talk to each other, they will start saying bad words to each other. Just sayin’….

  17. Sullee says:

    Jeff :WoW. I agree with G. Can this end in any other way than the Horde showing up in Arathi Basin one day and finding all the alliance has joined them?

    Please. It’s entirely facile to think that the overpopulated realm is the one ‘winning’. WoW has nothing that involves horde vs. alliance.. not one single aspect of it works that way in any meaningful extent. BGs are entirely trivial being so far subordinate to arenas as to be all but inconsequential. WG has designed mechanics that practically guarantee an overpopulated realm will not be able to hold it indefinitely.

  18. Trife says:

    Well, sorry Blizzard, you’re about years late to make me change my mind and actually be able to merge with my friends when we all started playing.

    It’s a nice feature to see, though I have no interest anymore. I see these things as just opportunities for money. Though I know tons of people who’d use them just to get revenge on their enemies.

    Though I expect it will be like I remember, the winning faction having 2 hour queues, and the losing faction having no queue time. Sadly, I could make more honor on the losing side, just cause I could get into games, and running pre-mades always worked well.

    There will be a balance, and it’s not like one side will win and have instant queues, so it all is fair in the end.

    It’s just more money for Blizzard, eventually they’ll be selling their own gold. (Which I’d secretly have done since the beginning if I were them, seeing as I know people who’ve spent multiple hundreds of dollars on gold and related services)

  19. Sounds pretty cool to me although at Blizzard’s rate of development it will be a year or so before we actually see it in game so don’t worry too much about it.

  20. Jeff says:

    Sullee :

    Jeff :WoW. I agree with G. Can this end in any other way than the Horde showing up in Arathi Basin one day and finding all the alliance has joined them?

    Please. It’s entirely facile to think that the overpopulated realm is the one ‘winning’. WoW has nothing that involves horde vs. alliance.. not one single aspect of it works that way in any meaningful extent. BGs are entirely trivial being so far subordinate to arenas as to be all but inconsequential. WG has designed mechanics that practically guarantee an overpopulated realm will not be able to hold it indefinitely.

    K. Few corrections to the “facts.”

    A) Arena participation has dropped dramatically over the last few seasons.

    B) I was using AB as a metaphor due to it is one the Alliance traditionally fairs poorly in. Sure WG is geared for the O to win, but world pvp and battlegrounds are a different story.
    I don’t know which server you’re on, but mine sees a lot of world pvp. Usually way more horde that alliance out there though, and horde tends to reinforce with “friends” a lot faster.

    C) Anecdotal evidence clearly demonstrates most hard core PvPers tend to flock to the evil or “gritty” side of any given conflict in any given MMO.

    D) There is a tendency by the realm that perceives itself as the losing side to flop over to the other. This would only be accelerated with a transfer.

    E) Back to the metaphor. I can see a lot more alliance people transferring to horde than the other way around.

