New Comment System, Everybody Panic

As the title noted, I’m trying out a new embedded comment system. Your feedback IS important to us, and will be answered in the order received! *beep*

As part of this, it has to import all the comments you people have left since the beginning of time. It will take a while so if your comments are missing, be sure and proclaim it’s because I hate you.

Edit: …..aaaaand it’s gone. Too many issues. We fear change.

Edit2: Since I switched comment engines in mid post, comments using the old and now current system appear before the aborted new and now deprecated system. LOOK JUST ACCEPT IT jesus I dread making a game that I have to ask for money from you people for.

62 Responses to New Comment System, Everybody Panic

  1. And here, we have a comment. Isn't this EXCITING? (Not really.)

  2. Njal says:

    Well I'd say first except I think that's juvenile. So instead I'd like to sing a song ….

  3. And look, it's THREADED! The thrills and the chills, it's nonstop, really.

  4. Syncaine says:

    Lets see how many times you can reply to a thread. WordPress cuts off after 4 I believe.

  5. I believe we can break that!

  6. geldonyetich says:

    My deluge of [automoderated] entries as the previous comment system killed perfectly good entries for the audacity of being edited while they had a link or three in them may or may not have been a factor.

  7. Syncaine says:

    Indeed. Your comment thread is way more hardcore than WordPress (correctly so, since this is niche compared to the mass market of WordPress)

  8. Jiffy says:

    Bring back Precasting!

  9. geldonyetich says:

    I have grokked the mighty power of OpenID. Does this mean my oh-so-important wishes for the ability to edit my messages will be granted?

  10. Yes, but the GM scandals will be AWESOME.

  11. Salaryn says:

    When you say "important to Us" is that a "royal we" sort of thing? is there more than one of you?

  12. Demetra says:

    But what does this have to do with Sims3?

  13. Vetarnias says:

    Виагра

  14. Vetarnias says:

    Seems to work fine, even for potential spammers.

    What bothers me though is that it makes the archives a complete mess. Blockquote cite doesn't seem to work here, so it's difficult to keep track of what was cited and what was the response.

  15. Syncaine says:

    So long as you keep your invuln shield on, everything should be fine.

  16. Y'know, SOME blog software has nicely threaded comments with subscription options by default…

  17. JuJutsu says:

    Sweet! I can give thumbs up & down. Sorry about that Vetarnias you were convenient 🙂 I'll give you an equally unjustified thumbs up sometime to maintain your good name…

  18. Vetarnias says:

    And look, it will be IMPOSSIBLE TO FOLLOW when it gets overly complicated.

    I just see it as a further ploy on your part to avoid talking about Darkfall. "Oh, but the comments will be impossible to organize if I do."

  19. Don't make me snipe you.

  20. rbtroj says:

    clearly your bad-assity is not uber enough for Darkfall, otherwise you would have implemented nested comments in the mid-1980s.

  21. Vetarnias says:

    Glad to be of convenience.

  22. Bonedead says:

    Here let me get that for you

  23. Bonedead says:

    I'll get this too

  24. bonedead says:

    does it get smaller?

  25. Wanderer says:

    It's annoying.

    Seriously, it's really annoying. It's like the bastard child of a blog and a forum, with none of the good points of either. In my opinion, it wasn't broken to begin with, and the "fix" may be annoying enough to make me wander off and not come back much.

  26. rbtroj says:

    Apropos

  27. Threading is turned off. That should take care of the primary difference – it was a pretty big UI change and it, well, didn't work very well.

    The main reason I set this up was for behind-the-scenes maintainability. The default WordPress commenting engine doesn't work too well with the level of comment traffic seen here.

  28. Vetarnias says:

    Ah, ok, thanks a lot for this. I was just about to comment that if you ever decided to switch back to your previous system, or any other, the comments in your archives made under this system would be a gigantic mumbo-jumbo of posts thrown out of order.

    And really, your archives are fun to read, too.

  29. hmmm… it still looks like it threads when you reply from a post, even with threading not active.

  30. Also, it doesn't like IE at ALL.

  31. Vetarnias says:

    Who does?

  32. IE should be burned. Except for a few copies. Which the creators are forced to use every day for the rest of their lives.

    I wonder if the devs at Microsoft use Firefox. It must make them cry just seeing something so much better…

  33. naum says:

    Hmm, IntenseDebate looks nicer than Disqus…

    UPDATE: /scratch, what I get for reading via RSS and then commenting…

  34. Skizo says:

    Nobody? Opera FTW 😛

    😮

    omg, random threading?

    Also, how the hell comes mine is 3rd comment?!? Who the hell did I erase? O_O

  35. Skizo says:

    nvm, it just so happens I’m traveling in time. feel free to remove my comments.

    … but still o_o”

  36. Man, I missed all the fun. :/

    Edit: And, apparently, I can travel through time…? The timestamp is off, and it’s before a lot of previous comments…

  37. CaesarsGhost says:

    giggity?

  38. Tide says:

    dude get a forum, srsly

  39. Arkenor says:

    Scott Jennings :
    hmmm… it still looks like it threads when you reply from a post, even with threading not active.

    It turns commenting into an ADVENTURE!!!!

  40. Arkenor says:

    Arkenor :

    Scott Jennings :
    hmmm… it still looks like it threads when you reply from a post, even with threading not active.

    It turns commenting into an ADVENTURE!!!!
    Click to Edit  (3 minutes and 50 seconds)

    Hmm, and the timestamps seem screwey, as I apparently replied hours before the original post. Maybe because I’m a Brit?

  41. Arkenor says:

    Does the timestamp work right if I don’t reply? Lets find out!

  42. Arkenor says:

    Arkenor :
    Does the timestamp work right if I don’t reply? Lets find out!
    Click to Edit

    No. No it does not.

  43. Owain says:

    Arkenor :

    Arkenor :Does the timestamp work right if I don’t reply? Lets find out!Click to Edit

    No. No it does not.

    Scott explains the problem in the edit to the main post.

    “Edit2: Since I switched comment engines in mid post, comments using the old and now current system appear before the aborted new and now deprecated system. LOOK JUST ACCEPT IT jesus I dread making a game that I have to ask for money from you people for.”

    Apparently the time stamps were corrupted when he put in the new system, so posts made with it are screwed up. Posts made now have the correct time stamp, and appear before the posts with the corrupted time stamps.

  44. Brent Michael Krupp says:

    I like how there’s a space missing between the date and the number of comments so just now when I looked at the main page this thread seemed to have “200945 comments”. On Firefox, if that matters. =)

  45. geldonyetich says:

    I have grokked the mighty power of OpenID. Does this mean my oh-so-important wishes for the ability to edit my comments will be granted?

    [edit:] Yea, it is so.

  46. Mark says:

    I missed something.

  47. Freakazoid says:

    I still use IE. Haven’t felt the need to change as I’ve been malware free for years.

  48. sinij says:

    I just wanted to leave my mark of disapproval in this thread.

  49. geldonyetich says:

    I liked being able to freely edit my comments while it lasted.

    Being unable to make comments for 6-8 hours following the reverting because my last post was registered as that many hours in the future (thereby triggering flood prevention) I could do without.

  50. Jarnis says:

    “jesus I dread making a game that I have to ask for money from you people for.”

    Can’t wait! No worries, even if it turns out to be the BEST GAME EVER that makes Blizzard products look amateurish, we’ll pick it apart in short order. 😀

  51. Freakazoid says:

    But… what if he works for blizzard? 😮

  52. adoombrae says:

    what do you mean, “you people”

  53. Stupid says:

    Scott Jennings :
    The main reason I set this up was for behind-the-scenes maintainability. The default WordPress commenting engine doesn’t work too well with the level of comment traffic seen here.

    Dude, just set up a forum.

    And while you’re at it, hire a team of admins to police and moderate said forum.

    You could start selling WoW gold advertising to pay for it all!

  54. Iconic says:

    Darkfall gold advertising would be better lulz.

  55. UnSub says:

    “jesus I dread making a game that I have to ask for money from you people for.”

    The inability of the devs to even implement a comment system that doesn’t require us to grind out letters in order to form sentences (the only gameplay mechanic as far as I can see) makes me question what they were thinking. And why they hate fun.

    I’m going back to WoW. Where the devs also hate fun, but it is a familiar form of hate.

  56. D-0ne says:

    I am not afraid.

  57. heartless_ says:

    adoombrae :
    what do you mean, “you people”

    Only part of that movie that was worth watching.

  58. Gx_1080 says:

    Hey my comments arent showing!!!

  59. geldonyetich says:

    The EVE Fan quotient was too high. It overloaded the system.

    LOOK, JUST ACCEPT IT. 😉

  60. Stupid :

    Scott Jennings :The main reason I set this up was for behind-the-scenes maintainability. The default WordPress commenting engine doesn’t work too well with the level of comment traffic seen here.

    Dude, just set up a forum.
    And while you’re at it, hire a team of admins to police and moderate said forum.
    You could start selling WoW gold advertising to pay for it all!

    oh yah that worked out so well the last time he did that

  61. Beene says:

    This is the most fun I’ve had in ages. Jebus Kristy, that’s a sad, sad little statement. Comments 4 teh win.

