Trust In The Light! (Unless It's Perky, Cute And Nerdy)

ferarro_belf.jpg

Don't I just REEK of moral clarity?

This just in: people lie on the Internet.

I know, really? We could just stop right there. This story has been told many times before, and the fact that I started this entry with the picture of a midriff-baring female elf paladin tells you all you need to know.

But if you want to know more – well, there is always more.

So the latest controversy roiling the Warcraftblogosphereofdramas is that of Paladin Schmaladin, prior to this week a popular blog-slash-reference for raiding paladins.

Paladin Schmaladin was written by Ferraro, who when not a world-class raiding paladin, is a QA tester for Blizzard. No really! Also… she interned at the CIA. NO, REALLY!

Also, this was her profile pic, on Blogger and WoW Insider:

2059397_64x64.jpg

Hi! I'm Ferraro!

…yeah. I know. I know. Amazingly, I know your world will be rocked to its core to find that all is not as it appears to be here.

First, after WoW Insider’s profile. Jagoex, another WoW blogger who writes about Warlocks, pointed out some similarities between Ferraro’s posted pictures and another perky cute blonde geek. Now, it’s entirely possible that Sarah Townsend, when not hitting up trade shows and microblogging and posting Flickr shots from parties raids in WoW. I mean, I believe in fairy tales. And warlocks are a bunch of filthy lying bloggers anyway. (Note: no laughing at my WoW Armory, plz. I don’t have time to be a hard core raider. Plus I’m not a cute blonde.) To quote Jagoex:

So what does all of this craziness mean, exactly?

Well, for starters, a bunch of love-struck boys are going to experience some heavy frustration when this comes to light, and we are bound to see some nerd rage soon. For bloggers like me, it is a little disheartening. Ferarro has basically been lying about her identity for years, and stealing someone else’s content and posting them as her own. She has taken advantage of another blogger and her reader’s trust, and that makes my job as a fellow blogger just that much harder.

On a WoW-related front, this mess also means that Ferarro isn’t a game tester for Blizzard. The “game-testing” images that were posted on Paladin Schmaladin were relabeled TechDarling images that were taken at a blogging expo.

>I gotta admit, just thinking about this gets me a little angry, and my mind is going crazy with a series of difficult questions: what drives a person to do this kind of thing? Why would anyone lead people on like that? And for what means? And do you know what the worst part about this whole thing is? Paladin Schmaladin was a great resource and excellent WoW blog that a lot of people enjoyed and depended on. Why it needed to be masked by someone else’s pretty face is beyond me, really. If you don’t like the way you look or want some privacy, don’t post a picture. End of story.

The word you’re looking for here: busted.

td.jpg

Hi! I'm NOT Ferraro.

But of course, it’s entirely possible that Sarah Townsend, when not hitting up trade shows and microblogging and posting Flickr shots from parties raids in WoW. Or… OK, maybe not.

UGH-some creep on WoW named Ferraro has been using my photos?

Well, that’s that, then! Ferraro’s first response was to hide her entire blog, with a note on her soon-to-be-deleted Twitter feed that “stalkers are cool”. Her Paladin character disappeared as well, most likely due to a server transfer.

Then, a short time later, Paladin Schmaladin was updated with a mea culpa of sorts. You see, there were many Ferraros. Many, many Ferraros.

Ever wonder why her voice in the podcast “interview,” her Ninja Rap, and her Mods and Addons Tutorial post sounded nothing alike? Different Ferraros.

Ever wondered how she suddenly started working for Blizzard out of the blue? That’s ’cause I actually do, and when I took over this this blog, it was the perfect avenue for me to share insider information while remaining safe behind a 5-year-old moniker.

For those of you who spoke with a Ferraro in Vent, did her voice change one time? It was a different girl.

Have you sat back and saw this blog’s writing style differ over the years? Now you know why (the 4th Ferraro was particularly ah, emotional).

How did she have an internship at the CIA, as well? Also a different Ferraro.

Think about it: Could anyone really level all those different Paladins of different races and factions and raid in different guilds on different servers and get them all to end-game status? Obviously not.

And if Ferraro didn’t get on Vent during your raid, it was likely when one of the guy “Ferraros” were in charge. Or it was during an author switch.

Each were world-class Paladins and experts at the game – just completely different people at one time or another.

Well, that clears it all up, doesn’t it? I mean it’s just an innocent case of, um, account sharing and appealing to multiple nerdy desires of most of WoW’s userbase simultaneously (OMG I AM TOTALLY RAIDING WITH A HOT JACK BAUER). Yeah. From Ferraro’s latest post:

I’m not even sure the original Ferraro keeps track of this blog anymore, and no one’s reached her yet (although she’ll probably hear about this by week’s end). Maybe she knew Sarah Townsend? I dunno. Probably not. The original Ferraro is actually very attractive though, so maybe she just chose it to… hide behind… while still… being… pretty? I don’t know. I’m just assuming. But the first Ferraro had a problem with stalkers. *shrug*

And from Ferraro’s interview a week ago:

Ah, the pictures: the double-edged sword. It’s funny: if I post my picture next to articles — you know, the way millions of other authors do in magazines, newspapers and blogs around the world — some people yell and scream that I’m an attention whore. But then if I take down anything that has to do with me as a person, like pictures or personal posts, then I’m hiding from the trolls and not being myself and get mocked for being weak. There’s really no way to make everyone okay with it unless I magically morphed into a guy — in which case no one would mind if I posted pictures, humorously enough.

I think it’s unfortunate all the hurdles female players so often have to jump through just to be accepted in this game by its male counterparts, let alone be accepted as one who excels at it. So I stopped playing by the hypocritical rules and adopted the saying, “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter won’t mind,” and haven’t looked back. I’m just going to be myself and post and say what I want, and if you don’t like what I write, then just close the window or scroll up. I’m gonna be me no matter what.

I’m sure the actual women who play WoW and post entries to the Internet and occasionally are fairly attractive really, really wish Ferraro was “gonna be me no matter what” right about now. Because this is a classic, almost pristine example of attention-whoring, down to the breathless “inside the velvet rope” references whispered from almost every paragraph of Ferraro’s interview…

To put it simply, I do internal testing with Blizz (not “for” — there’s a big difference). I think I’m treading on thin ice saying this, but I essentially raid with a team in one room. We pull up numbers, discuss things and make hefty reports and send them to … ah, “important” people. I think that’s all I can say without heat coming down on me.

(I would be very, very surprised if Blizzard actually did this, considering that it would be far easier to simply collect metrics and observe actual raids in progress on live servers. Without the overhead of paying people who then promptly give interviews to WoW Insider.)

I moved from Virginia to Southern California a few years ago, so I’ve made friends from coast to coast with people who have played this game (no, nothing romantic). I’ve gone to the beach with a guild I was in, went to a server BBQ, and met a bunch of fans at last year’s Blizzcon. You do have to be careful when you meet up with people, though (there’s no bubble-hearthing in the real world), so I almost always bring a couple friends with me.

“Hi, I’m totally available from afar, but also very, very cool. You better step up your game, scrub!”

So where does this all end? Probably with the player formerly known as Ferraro starting a new blog shortly. WoW Insider, no doubt embarrassed as hell for not spotting the Twelve Danger Signs Of The Drama Queen, posted a handy recap which also disclosed via the magic of IP tracking that Ferraro’s mea culpa isn’t all that culpa.

We’ve investigated, and have determined based on IP address records of comments left by Ferarro on WoW.com between July of 2008 and May of 2009 that the comments all came from the same small subnet of IPs, and are all geographically very local to one another. This means that unless “Ferarro #1” through “Ferarro #7” live within a few miles of each other, they’re the same person.

So, someone who made an Internet reputation based largely on lying… lied. Imagine that. From Ferraro:

How do we know all of this isn’t a lie? That would be akin to coming clean and admitting to stealing a car, then robbing a bank, murdering policemen and civilians, and taking off with millions of dollars… and then in court swearing you had your seat belt on. Lying is kinda moot at this point.

Honestly, if anything it probably would be easier to say, “Yup, that was all me. My bad. Anyway, moving on…” But I figure since we’re coming clean, it might as well be in total.

You’d think. Then again, habits can be hard to break, and plenty of posters really want to believe that there is, out there, their dream of an attractive blood elf being paid to raid.

Really, a good dose of misanthropy is the best palette cleanser for this whole sad sordid tale. Gevlon the Greedy Goblin is here to save the day! (But surely, not out of altruism, that would be an ape subroutine or something.)

Don’t trust in people. Trust in facts, systems, maybe even ideas. And just because you meet someone often (or read him often) don’t think you know him! You don’t. When something comes up that does not fit into your picture, it’s not his fault to disappoint you. It’s your fault to have expectations from him.

In that vein, I have a confession to make: I actually am a sultry draenei woman who works for the FSB. Sorry, but it seemed best to come clean. I know, everyone was comfortable with the thought of my being an overweight forty-something game designer, but I’m gonna be me no matter what now.

secretidentity

Hi, boys!

77 Responses to Trust In The Light! (Unless It's Perky, Cute And Nerdy)

  1. Triforcer says:

    So…Ferraro is one person, who lied about being seven people, and was also lying about that picture being her?

    …I’m betting Revelation #3 (“I’m a guy”) is only a day or two off.

  2. JuJutsu says:

    “She has taken advantage of another blogger and her reader’s trust, and that makes my job as a fellow blogger just that much harder.”

    Readers trust bloggers?

  3. Heartless_ says:

    I know, everyone was comfortable with the thought of my being an overweight forty-something game designer, but I’m gonna be me no matter what now.

    I need a show of hands of everyone who was “comfortable”.

  4. Daniel says:

    Well, Gelvon as usual is only half right. But that’s better than being all wrong.

    Off topic.

    “all came from the same small subnet of IPs, and are all geographically very local to one another. This means that unless “Ferarro #1″ through “Ferarro #7″ live within a few miles of each other, they’re the same person.”

    That blew my mind. Can someone who knows more about networking than me confirm this. I realize that when your ISP assigns you a random IP, it’s not truly random. But I didn’t realize someone could narrow a handful of such IP addresses down to a “few miles”. The city of LA, sure. “A few miles,” really???

  5. Vetarnias says:

    I’m almost expecting someone to step forward and shout: “Ta-daa! It was a social experiment for my doctoral dissertation! (And the only true part, which I can’t tell you about, is that I have a standing job offer from the CIA after I graduate — they deal in deceit, don’t they?)”

    But why didn’t someone at Blizzard expose her as not being one of their QA testers?

  6. geldonyetich says:

    They walk among us: shapeshifters, dopplegangers…

    “Look at you, Hacker. A pathetic creature of meat and bone, panting and sweating as you run through my corridors. How can you challenge a perfect, immortal machine?”

    Nah, too romantic. They’re basically just folks who figure being popular is a whole lot more important than being honest, and – their moral constraint conveniently hacked away – away they go. When revealed, of course, they become rather defensive.

    “Who are you? My cameras and probes scan your body, but you do not match any employee file. When my cyborgs bring you to the electrified interrogation bench, I will have your secret and you will learn more about pain than you ever wanted to know.”

    When pressed into a corner, they’re rarely apologetic.

    “Insect, cease your meddling. My experiment must continue.”

    And, in time, they’ll probably just retreat from the Internet proper.

    “Idiot! I will shortly complete the process of downloading my magnificent psyche into Earth’s computer networks. Then I will be content to leave you as new master of this doomed space station. Goodbye, irritant; we shall not meet again.”

  7. Vajarra says:

    LIAR

    That draenei in the picture is a Warrior, not a Paladin 😉

  8. I never claimed to be a Paladin!

    (No, really, playing Paladins makes me itchy.)

  9. Estefan says:

    There seems to be an outrage I do not understand…

    If the blog is good, why should it matter if the person(s) who write it are “real” or “fake”?

    I think I never met a tauren in game who has actually horns in rl…

  10. xzzy says:

    JuJutsu :
    Readers trust bloggers?

    We only trust the 40 year old overweight ones. It’s in the EULA.

  11. Bonedead says:

    @Heartless_
    *raises hand*

  12. Vetarnias says:

    @Estefan
    It’s a little more complicated than that. It’s a question of feeling deceived, even if it’s just for the sake of getting attention. Viral marketing is the logical conclusion of such a trend, and I remember a case where “bloggers” and their blog were the product of a marketing firm to perform a long-haul viral campaign (it started blog some time before the product hit the market).

    It’s the same thing as when it turned out that James Frey’s “memoirs” were a gigantic fraud; it’s the same thing as when you read a blog by a writer who self-aggrandizes everything he does while playing loose with facts (especially if the blogger in question is the kind to launch tirades against everyone and is the kind to play loose with facts about them, too — see your average partisan political blog).

  13. geldonyetich says:

    Fixation on any pretty face is a self-deception to begin with. You’re probably never going to meet that girl in person, much less date her, why should you even care how she looks?

    Getting obsessed over a concept of a girl because she plays a Paladin in World of Warcraft and might be attractive? A self-deception within a self-deception. Why should a fake world aspect enhance a real world aspect?

    Finding out the object of your affections might have been deceiving you about being an attractive girl who plays World of Warcraft? An external deception on top of your self-deception within a self-deception. It begins to rankle.

    Discovering the object of your affections was attempting further subterfuge on top of this ploy? Additional deception added to the external deception on top of your self-deception within a self-deception. Okay, why wouldn’t you be ticked off you’re being played?

    Having said object admit the jig is up and say, “dude – what were you really expecting to find?” Alright, at least you’re not being deceived anymore, but this point our deceiver is making is one that anybody who was as easily deceived as this would most likely be unable to grok.

    “The release of atom power has changed everything except our way of thinking… the solution to this problem lies in the heart of mankind. If only I had known, I should have become a watchmaker.”

  14. Owain says:

    Does this mean WoW is ‘broken’?

    Just asking…

  15. “(I would be very, very surprised if Blizzard actually did this, considering that it would be far easier to simply collect metrics and observe actual raids in progress on live servers. Without the overhead of paying people who then promptly give interviews to WoW Insider.)”

    There was a QA Manager panel at AGDC ’07 on the subject of, well, running an MMO QA department, and the Blizzard QA Manager (I don’t remember the exact title or pecking order, it was 2.5 years ago) said they do, in fact, do that. As I recall, he said they recruited a lot of high-end raiders (enough for a 40-man team) to playtest new raids before letting them out into the wild. I don’t remember, or perhaps he didn’t say, whether or not they did other QA work as well.

  16. geldonyetich says:

    Owain :
    Does this mean WoW is ‘broken’?
    Just asking…

    WoW is broken in a great many little ways, but not because one of the players is an attention whore.

  17. Realist says:

    Do you really need an Oracle to figure how to play WoW? The game is simple enough for little kids to play. The social dynamics are more difficult to master than the game play. That is where you really succeed or fail. IMO, people generally only read WoW blogs when they are bored and can’t play at the time. They just want to pass the time.

  18. mystery says:

    xzzy :

    JuJutsu :
    Readers trust bloggers?

    We only trust the 40 year old overweight ones. It’s in the EULA.

    Wow, someone trusts me?

  19. nerd gone bad says:

    Daniel :
    Off topic.
    “all came from the same small subnet of IPs, and are all geographically very local to one another. This means that unless “Ferarro #1″ through “Ferarro #7″ live within a few miles of each other, they’re the same person.”
    That blew my mind. Can someone who knows more about networking than me confirm this. I realize that when your ISP assigns you a random IP, it’s not truly random. But I didn’t realize someone could narrow a handful of such IP addresses down to a “few miles”. The city of LA, sure. “A few miles,” really???

    Not without the cooperation of the ISP owner of that network range. If the ip addresses that posted comments for X years all came from a relatively small range of ip’s then the assumption is that they are most likely all from the same ISP Account and/or those people would all live within relatively close distance of that ISP’s network hub assigned that network range per se is definitely likely.

  20. Matthew says:

    This sure is a fun one. The internet was created to entertain me with it’s drama and it hasn’t failed me yet!

  21. geldonyetich says:

    That blew my mind. Can someone who knows more about networking than me confirm this. I realize that when your ISP assigns you a random IP, it’s not truly random. […] I didn’t realize someone could narrow a handful of such IP addresses down to a “few miles”.

    Depends on the ISP, to an extent. Some ISPs assign their DNS from a smaller pool assigned to a specific geographical location, other ISPs have a more dynamic range of IP address assignment. Depends on how far up past the trunk the IP is assigned.

    From the sounds of things, Ferarro’s was one that was closer rather than further. E.g. The block s/he lived in might have had some IPs assigned to it.

    Heck, even with a traceroute I can get a pretty good guess about which city you live in. Granted, there’s a question of at which point traces are blocked within that ISP. Some will let you go all the way back to to the router at your desk – DSL connections are oft like this.

    I lied to F13 when I told em’ I as coming in off a dynamic IP address. Comcast is lazy, they’ve given me the same “dynamic” IP address or years. I just used the kind of proxy service people set up to let people get around work firewalls.

  22. Njal says:

    @Owain
    Nonsense, as Scott might say “people are broken”. Well at least some of them.

  23. Ritchian says:

    I had no idea who Ferraro was prior to this mess… Although one could exposit that I still know nothing of Ferraro what with the lies heaped atop lies smothered beneath yet another rich layer of lies. Anyway, all I can say is this all seems rather silly and would make an excellent psychology paper on what might cause someone to, well, lie their ass off for the adoration of thousands of faceless nerds on the Internet. And lie about things in a way so simple to verify were someone to do the leg work to expose it, or at least be a reader of two or three separate blogs simultaneously.

    And I don’t believe you’re really a sultry Draenei woman, Scott. Just admit the truth already. You’re actually a collection of seven or eight gnomes standing on top of each other in a female Draenei costume.

  24. GTB says:

    …What?

    Seriously, everyone knows the only girl who plays MMOs is young Mrs. Weathers.

    And she’s really David Hasselhoff. SHHHHHHHH.

  25. Owain says:

    In other MMO news, Another One Bites the Dust…

    Matrix Online is shutting down.

    http://www.gamasutra.com/php-bin/news_index.php?story=23815

  26. Vetarnias says:

    Owain :
    In other MMO news, Another One Bites the Dust…
    Matrix Online is shutting down.
    http://www.gamasutra.com/php-bin/news_index.php?story=23815

    Is this comment a variation on the “nothing is real” general theme of this discussion?

  27. geldonyetich says:

    It’s too bad about Matrix Online, that game might have had a chance if they had a few more months of development before pushing it to market. They were trying to do dynamic content, but the whole thing ended up a poorly glued together mess with ugly, ugly details.

    In the end, the roleplayers took it over, which in some cases would be encouraging – widespread roleplay is rarely adapted in any MMORPG – but here it was because there wasn’t enough game to suffice. I’m kinda surprised they’re shutting it down instead of making it Free2Play, given FreeRealms success.

    But yeah, off-topic.

  28. Owain says:

    @Vetarnias
    Well, by all means, let’s focus on the quality on-topic posts instead.

    GTB :…What?
    Seriously, everyone knows the only girl who plays MMOs is young Mrs. Weathers.
    And she’s really David Hasselhoff. SHHHHHHHH.

    There. Much better. That should satisfy the thought/blog-topic police.

  29. geldonyetich says:

    You sure are a whiny little bitch, Owain.

    Ah, you remind me of myself in my 20s.

    I whine slightly less in my early 30s – such is fledgling wisdom.

  30. Vetarnias says:

    @Owain
    Oh, you misinterpreted my comment. I was not objecting to your post at all; I was just being tongue-in-cheek in my eye-rolling-inducing usual fashion.

    If anything, it’s all Scott’s fault — yes, Scott, it is your fault, and DON’T YOU DENY IT — for failing to create a post on Matrix Online.

    In the case of Matrix Online, I’m also wondering if launching the game long after the first film, and after the franchise was driven into the ground by its makers, didn’t really have a much greater impact than thought of. (I’ve never played MxO, so I can’t say if the game is good enough as a stand-alone to be independent of the fortunes of the original franchise material.)

  31. Arkenor says:

    Hmm, I wonder how much extra traffic pretending to be a hot chick is worth? Maybe it’s time to introduce my heretofore unmentioned cousin Arkenorina, who will be taking over blogging duties henceforth.

  32. geldonyetich says:

    Why stop half way? You can make way more money by selling porn featuring a neverending parade of heretofore unmentioned cousins.

  33. Owain says:

    @Vetarnias
    Trying to complete a game development project to coincide with a movie is a difficult proposition. My son works for Treyarch in Santa Monica, and most recently worked on the James Bond Quantum of Solace title. It’s hard, even when you get a lot of original source/plot data from the studio.

    And to remain on topic, no, not everyone you encounter on the Internet is what they claim to be. Some profess to be Pundits, for example.

  34. Vetarnias says:

    geldonyetich :
    Why stop half way? You can make way more money by selling porn featuring a neverending parade of heretofore unmentioned cousins.

    I’d gladly lie about who I am, but I’m not sure someone would believe I’m blonde, buxom, 21, prime minister of Canada, the recipient of two Nobel prizes (literature and chemistry would do nicely), and incredibly rich all at once.

  35. geldonyetich says:

    @Owain

    Your fingers say you’ve a son who works for Treyarch in Santa Monica cranking out movie titles. Your guild affiliation says you’re thinking this Ferraro gal had a good idea.

    Then again, I’ve hung out with these guys before. Some of them are pretty old. I’m not sure I could say much for their maturity level – one of them really does make porn and sell it on the Internet.

  36. Gx1080 says:

    Its about the feeling, man. People are perfectly fine being idiots, but they dont like feeling like idiots, usually when somebody else tells them the truth.

    And the line between attention whore and guys are a little blurry….. i want to see the WoW forums and WoW blogs when thats revealed (Its is going to be legendary).

    About Matrix Online, the only thing that keeped that grindy game alive (and i did played it), was the roleplayer community. When the story stopped being interesting (i mean the last episodes are just not good) and SOE maked it server exclusive, aka not official canon it started dying. It wasnt a sudden moment, it was a slow and painful agony, and the fact that the backstory started to pile up didnt help.

  37. Arkenor says:

    geldonyetich :
    Why stop half way? You can make way more money by selling porn featuring a neverending parade of heretofore unmentioned cousins.

    Hmm, infinite hot cousins. That gives me an idea. Time to get working on the “How many hot cousins can dance naked on the head of a pin?” Pay-per-view.

  38. Vetarnias says:

    Arkenor :

    geldonyetich :
    Why stop half way? You can make way more money by selling porn featuring a neverending parade of heretofore unmentioned cousins.

    Hmm, infinite hot cousins. That gives me an idea. Time to get working on the “How many hot cousins can dance naked on the head of a pin?” Pay-per-view.

    Wish ’twere my pin…

    (And when did this blog move to R-rated content?)

  39. geldonyetich says:

    (And when did this blog move to R-rated content?)

    Somewhere around here.

    Q; Slayton, Mega, when picking a writer for retpaladin.com did Ferarro being a girl influence you at all?

    Megaphone; DAMN STRAIGHT IT DID. Ferarro was one of the more esteemed writers of the Paladin world, even back then. Nobody can really deny that. Very much came into play, her being a gurl and all. It’d be wrong to say that the thought didn’t cross my mind ever so slightly, sometimes you need wild cards that everybody talks about to spice things up!

  40. Arkenor says:

    Vetarnias :
    (And when did this blog move to R-rated content?)

    My apologies. I have lowered the tone.

    On second thoughts, that wasn’t me. It was my brutish brother, Achenar, who works for MI5.

  41. geldonyetich says:

    The tone was lowered because I secretly require copious amounts of Ferraro porn. And by I, I mean geldonyetich’s evil half-brother who lives in a microscopic house beneath his mouse laser pointer. As for me, I’ve been Owain all along.

  42. Vetarnias says:

    Arkenor :

    Vetarnias :
    (And when did this blog move to R-rated content?)

    My apologies. I have lowered the tone.
    On second thoughts, that wasn’t me. It was my brutish brother, Achenar, who works for MI5.

    Owain probably has a file on him, considering he’s KGB.

  43. Raad says:

    Hey, her milkshake bought all the boys to the yard. Does it matter that they were like OH MY FUCKING GOD IT WAS A DUDE AAAHAHAHAHAAAHHAH adawd ;owaehr;law h;kjadbfkasdb kb sa fbsa,dfb,sad. There are no women on the internets. That is all.

  44. Melf_Himself says:

    Epic story 🙂

  45. Freakazoid says:

    Damn all you horny teens! Quit thinking you have a shot at getting the affections of girls on the internet! If I was still in high school, I would totally beat you all up for being pathetic geek losers!

  46. GTB says:

    Wait a minute… I get the feeling that Owain maybe isn’t serious when he uses my post as an example of quality!

  47. geldonyetich says:

    Wait a minute… I get the feeling that Owain maybe was referring to me when he mentioned some of the people who profess to be what they’re not on the Internet are self-proclaimed pundits! OMG, and that thought-police mention – I was saying that – he turned that against me!

    OWAIN!!!!! OWAAAAIIIIIINN!! (Que Star Trek music)

    Of course, because I am Owain, I was just harboring resentment towards myself. It’s all part of my master plan to secure geek girl porn.

  48. Mist says:

    I’ve never heard of any of the people involved. This seems like the definition of a non-story.

  49. Eduin says:

    So does this all mean that Lum the Mad is a hot chick?

    Regards,
    Eduin

  50. Vetarnias says:

    Mist :
    I’ve never heard of any of the people involved. This seems like the definition of a non-story.

    I’m sure it’s one large excuse on Scott’s part to avoid giving us what we really want: a Darkfall update.

  51. Mark Asher says:

    I sort of hate the blogosphere. Stories like this are just echoes of stories on other blogs which are just echoes of….

  52. Arkenor says:

    Mark Asher :
    I sort of hate the blogosphere. Stories like this are just echoes of stories on other blogs which are just echoes of….

    I agree! We should write about this outrage on our blogs!

  53. Larry Lard says:

    Mark Asher :
    I sort of hate the blogosphere. Stories like this are just echoes of stories on other blogs which are just echoes of….

    I disagree. For those of us that don’t play WoW, this will be our first exposure to this drama. And for me personally, not immersed in any particular MMO for some time, it’s nice to know that Ecclesiastes 1:9 still applies…

  54. Iconic says:

    All hot women on the internet are actually 40 year old dudes. That’s the first rule of the internet. Until you’ve met in person and talked for more than five minutes, just assume that she’s a 40 year old dude. It saves you so much frustration and embarrassment later on, when she actually turns out to be a 40 year old dude.

  55. Angelworks says:

    Vetarnias :
    I’m almost expecting someone to step forward and shout: “Ta-daa! It was a social experiment for my doctoral dissertation! (And the only true part, which I can’t tell you about, is that I have a standing job offer from the CIA after I graduate — they deal in deceit, don’t they?)”
    But why didn’t someone at Blizzard expose her as not being one of their QA testers?

    I’m kinda waiting for this for mmo’s in general. I’m totally convinced they are all part of some grand social experiment – or at the very least created by developers for some sick form of amusement (lol look they are trying that boss *again*!)

  56. Athryn says:

    The funny thing is I never had even heard of “her” blog until this whole thing asploded onto the blogosphere. I usually stick with Banana Shoulders, solid info for me there. She’s a girl, too, but doesn’t make an issue about it, other than mentioning their female name on their about page. If the writing is good and the information useful, I could care less about the RL gender of the author

    I really do hate attention whores like this though, whether or not she’s actually female, it’s just another thing that gives us actual women gamers a bad stereotype.

  57. Xoduz says:

    Ferrarwho? I need to develop an interest for Internet-drama, I see.

  58. GTB says:

    Vetarnias :

    Mist :
    I’ve never heard of any of the people involved. This seems like the definition of a non-story.

    I’m sure it’s one large excuse on Scott’s part to avoid giving us what we really want: a Darkfall update.

    By god, I think you’ve figured out his ploy. The secret to a great Scott Jennings post is to force him to play terrible games and then talk about it!

  59. Melissa says:

    The really odd part is there are no posts on techno-chicks blog in months were there were big WoW releases. The last patch in April? No techno posts. In fact, there are very few posts at all on her blog IMO.

    I really agree with the Goblin here. And I’m not so sure why you all don’t think this is something done by tech-chick/ferraro/whoever as a dramatic way of transitioning her readership to her other blog or just to get attention. I’m not sure why you all just assume this ‘locks blog, techdarling’s twitter, and all these other sites are correct when you don’t really know any of those people either!

  60. Iggep says:

    what a sad commentary it is on this individual, and our society as a whole, that even within the relative anonymity of the Internet someone feels the need to put someone else’s picture to their own face. I truly feel sad for this person that they feel that little of themselves.

  61. Owain says:

    geldonyetich :@Owain
    Your fingers say you’ve a son who works for Treyarch in Santa Monica cranking out movie titles. Your guild affiliation says you’re thinking this Ferraro gal had a good idea.
    Then again, I’ve hung out with these guys before. Some of them are pretty old. I’m not sure I could say much for their maturity level – one of them really does make porn and sell it on the Internet.

    I’m not sure why my guild affiliation would make you think that Ferraro gal(?) had a good idea, nor why you would be surprised that not all gamers are barely out of puberty.

    The KGB happens to have quite a few older players, including a number of veterans (USAF in my case), which is why we are organized along military lines. Maybe this is also why we have operated continuously for a decade as well, and why we prefer PvP MMOs. Whacking mobs just doesn’t hack it for us, but defending the realm does. I happen to be the elder statesman of the group, shocking as that may seem.

  62. Owain says:

    Doh! Of course that should read, “I’m not sure why my guild affiliation would make you think I believe that Ferraro gal(?) had a good idea…”

  63. Cedia says:

    Why does it seem that WoW brings out all the creeps? For whatever reason, I never seem to hear this stuff about the other games I play (currently CoX, Vanguard, and LotRO).

  64. geldonyetich says:

    Of course that should read

    Don’t worry about it, Owain, your correctness transcends the boundaries of the English language.

  65. Athryn says:

    @Cedia

    Because with 12 million players, some of them are gonna be wackos.

  66. faefrost says:

    Cedia :Why does it seem that WoW brings out all the creeps? For whatever reason, I never seem to hear this stuff about the other games I play (currently CoX, Vanguard, and LotRO).

    Through some stroke of luck you managed to pick the three least creep laden games currently out. I strongly suggest you poke around on some Darkfall, Warhammer or AC1 Darktide forums to experience what truly mind blowing creepy is. WoW’s creeps are strictly amateur hour compared to some. They just attract a larger audience.

  67. Oz says:

    I love the internet! Drama for pennies a day.

  68. Arkenor says:

    Oz :
    I love the internet! Drama for pennies a day.

    What we save in money, we lose in brain cells.

  69. Ferrel says:

    I’m sad that this persons online persona name is close to mine! The shame.

    For the record, the picture of me on Epic slant… you know, the skinny, pale, white guy with glasses… that totally isn’t me.

    This is really quite a story though. I’m not much for drama but the whole “investigation” is interesting in a “watching a train wreck” sort of way.

  70. Lenin says:

    I truly believe Ferraro is probably an overweight, aging bald Korean gold farmer. Now that Aion is out, “she”‘ll probably disappear from WoW.

  71. Sheepherder says:

    In times like these, it is necessary to go back to your roots and rediscover ancient wisdom:

    The cake is a lie.

  72. The chick in the glasses is kinda hot too though.

  73. Mist says:

    Cedia :
    Why does it seem that WoW brings out all the creeps? For whatever reason, I never seem to hear this stuff about the other games I play (currently CoX, Vanguard, and LotRO).

    Uh… CoX? The game that’s filled with fetish roleplayers? Including Futas?

  74. geldonyetich says:

    “Filled with” might be a bit of an exaggeration. There’s a few on Virtue in the lower levels, but that’s about it.

  75. Tremayne says:

    faefrost :

    Cedia :Why does it seem that WoW brings out all the creeps? For whatever reason, I never seem to hear this stuff about the other games I play (currently CoX, Vanguard, and LotRO).

    Through some stroke of luck you managed to pick the three least creep laden games currently out. I strongly suggest you poke around on some Darkfall, Warhammer or AC1 Darktide forums to experience what truly mind blowing creepy is. WoW’s creeps are strictly amateur hour compared to some. They just attract a larger audience.

    I suspect I’m gonna get flamed here but… anyone else notice that the games listed above as least creep laden are strongly PvE oriented, and the ones listed as mind blowingly creepy are the forums for PvP games? Bearing in mind of course that a game’s forums are usually a distillation of the worst elements of the player base as a whole…

  76. geldonyetich says:

    The perception that there’s a whole lot more creeps in WoW is about on par with the perception that there’s a whole lot more viruses on the PC. It may be true, but it has less to do with the nature of the thing attracting these kind of things, and more to do with there being so very many more instances of the thing than there are the alternative.

    Put another way, if you’re a virus writer and looking to secure the most infections possible, you’re most likely to target the biggest platform in town as you perceive it. If you’re a person looking to make a profit off of selling MMORPG tips under a better-than-life personae, you’re most likely to target the most lucrative MMORPG as you perceive it.

    In both cases, it carries an elevated risk in backfiring on the grounds that if you have that many people involved in the platform, there’s a higher probability one of them is going to make the time to find out who you are and make you pay for being a self-serving douche.

