38 Studios Gets Big And Huge

Specifically, Big Huge Games.

Good news considering scuttlebutt had the BHG studio closing after layoffs last month.

16 Responses to 38 Studios Gets Big And Huge

  1. J. says:

    Good news. This had been rumored for at least a couple weeks. One of my friends, Ian Frazier, works at Big Huge, having previously been laid off after Iron Lore founded (he was producer -and- lead designer on Soulstorm, the last gasp of Dawn of War I) and was working on whatever Ken Rolston (previously LD of both Morrowind and Oblivion) had worked.

    Ian was also the project lead for Ultima V: Lazarus. Recognize!

  2. Ark says:

    Cool, always nice to see things work out for a change, especially in this economy. Best of luck to them.

  3. octopaganini says:

    My admiration for 38 has now increased exponentially. Well played, SchilSalviFarlane.

  4. Gx1080 says:

    Some grow, others get small. Such is the way of live. And gratz to 38 Studios and Big Huge Games. Good to see that talent doesnt get wasted.

  5. pharniel says:

    ultima V lazarus is one of the most 100% win things i’ve ever seen in my life.

    i would pay money for that kind of thing to be done to 6-7(a/b)
    hell, you might even be able to redeem 8…but 9 is totally fallen to the dark side forever.

  6. I’m exceedingly curious to see what 38 Studios release. I’ve been following Steve Danuser’s blog for years and I really knows his stuff. Hopefully it will result in an awesome game 🙂

  7. J. says:

    pharniel :
    i would pay money for that kind of thing to be done to 6

    http://u6project.com/

  8. Matthew says:

    I hope they are still working on the previously announced RPG. The press release seems to suggest that.

  9. Abalieno says:

    What? A good news in these times of gloom and doom?

    How unfit.

  10. Iconic says:

    My only concern is that 38 studios keeps growing without (so far) producing anything to sell.

    Good to see that BHG will remain as a game making entity though. They are high quality.

  11. Danno says:

    Shilling keeps saying they’re going to do the Big Unveil (of the IP, at least) at ComicCon this year.

  12. heartless_ says:

    If all they do is reveal the IP this year, for a 2010 game, the boo birds will be out and I doubt a bloody sock will be available. I don’t have anything against 38 studios, but WAR taught me the realities of hype and that the days of hype turning into success are long gone.

  13. EpicSquirt says:

    38 Studios sounds like 37 Signals and Big Huge Games sounds like a pile of shit.

    World domination through naming (TM).

    Sorry, I couldn’t resist.

  14. Raad says:

    Rise of Nations 2, they really need to make it. I want WiC style battles with RoN style gameplay goddamnit! Oh and they are laying off a few employees btw, 70 out of the 120 will be kept.

  15. Dirk says:

    agreed, they really need a Rise of nations 2, I still play the first one. Great game…

  16. Raad says:

    @Dirk
    I would play the first one but I’ve played *every* single scenario possible, if there is something that can turn out the way it does, chances are I’ve done it. Freakin’ awesome game, I don’t know why BHG decided to piss all over it with Legends.

