Vulture Culture

I still can’t tell you where I work. But apparently the carrion birds know.

vultureculture

Yes, that is a vulture. Yes, it just landed on our patio. Yes, I think this means we’re about to be dead or targeted for some sort of buyout.

A coworker took another picture:

austingamedev

50 Responses to Vulture Culture

  1. Baroo says:

    Ah hah! It’s now so obvious where you work — Generic North American Business Park… in the building next to the rest of us.

  2. Sanya says:

    And you wonder why I won’t move to Texas!!

  3. hehe omg… that is crazy.

  4. I see yet another bird-driven SUV in the parking lot waiting to mow you down after work!

  5. DoubleD says:

    What’s up with you and birds? If I remember correctly there was another bird that visited you at the last place?

  6. wowpanda says:

    I think I saw that bird yesterday. We might be closer than you think.

  7. David says:

    And what I notice about the picture is that was taken with a 1st gen iPhone (Based on the reflection in the window)

  8. Nope, it’s a 2nd gen iPhone, with the vanity white case!

  9. whereiswaldo says:

    a 2nd gen for sure.

  10. Triforcer says:

    Well, this picture rules out Siberia and probably Zimbabwe. Someone start the pixel by pixel analysis, surely we can narrow it down even further!!

  11. Raad says:

    Watch your eyes around those fuckers. Nasty things, them birds.

  12. Briancj says:

    I know that building complex. 😀

  13. sinij says:

    Visit from upper management?

  14. Ironwood says:

    That’s the funniest thing I’ve seen all week.

  15. Mu says:

    It was my understanding that everybody knew that the bird is the word.

  16. Raad says:

    @Mu

    @D-0ne
    OH GOD NOT THIS AGAIN

  17. Vetarnias says:

    D-0ne :


    I will never forgive you for the rest of my life.

  18. dartwick says:

    Well we can rule out half the country based on the surrounding trees with leaves.

  19. DaveN says:

    I worked at a place in Houston that had vast flocks of black vultures all around the buildings. My first day on the job I was on the phone with a co-worker when suddenly I saw about a hundred of the things take to the air. My comment to a co-worker: “I’ll have to call you back. I just entered a Hitchcock movie.”

    My wife’s theory was that the vultures were proof that the energy corridor in Houston is built on one vast Hellmouth.

  20. Cedia says:

    I hope it’s BioWare, Scott. You deserve it. 🙂

  21. Drey says:

    Maybe it was just filling in for the Blue Bird of Happiness?

  22. Vetarnias says:

    dartwick :
    Well we can rule out half the country based on the surrounding trees with leaves.

    Because Fairbanks, Alaska is renowned as a gaming studio hub.

  23. Montague says:

    Vetarnias :

    dartwick :Well we can rule out half the country based on the surrounding trees with leaves.

    Because Fairbanks, Alaska is renowned as a gaming studio hub.

    Oh, if only…

  24. Triforcer says:

    Oh, nice Donkey Kong Country reference too. I didn’t catch that on the first read.

  25. Lucas says:

    It’s an evil place. Foreboding, I sense shadow all around it. The Bird is the first sign of impending doom.

    Cheers!

  26. Vetarnias says:

    Lucas :
    It’s an evil place. Foreboding, I sense shadow all around it. The Bird is the first sign of impending doom.
    Cheers!

    I am certain that there is a hidden clue as to Mr. Jennings’ employment in this picture. Now, if it had been any ordinary bird, it could have meant anything, but since it is a vulture, that leaves only one distinct possibility.

    Microsoft.

  27. geldonyetich says:

    Missed your chance to stuff and mount it. Take that, recession!

  28. Drey says:

    @Vetarnias
    I am certain that there is a hidden clue as to Mr. Jennings’ employment in this picture. Now, if it had been any ordinary bird, it could have meant anything, but since it is a vulture, that leaves only one distinct possibility.

    Or The Register.

  29. Vetarnias says:

    @Drey
    Ah yes, the most fascinating source of Wikipedia-bashing out there. The only reason for which I read it.

  30. Jessica Mulligan says:

    We recognize your building and we’re coming to get you.

    And your little bird, too!

  31. Drey says:

    Vetarnias :
    @Drey
    Ah yes, the most fascinating source of Wikipedia-bashing out there. The only reason for which I read it.

    The BOFH stories used to be quite good too but I think they’ve worn out their welcome.

  32. Beene says:

    Nice to see the friendly EA reps stop by for a visit.

  33. Jeff says:

    My money is on Lum working for Bioware Austin.

  34. J. says:

    They’re in the neighborhood, but only because 90 percent of the game development in Austin is 10 miles from Richard Garriott’s “house”.

  35. hkedi says:

    I KNOW that building….. I lived in Austin 5-6 years ago, Definitely West side of the city, it’s pretty hilly (look at the road). I think it’s somewhere on the capital of Texas highway. possibly close to the bridge. (of course that doesn’t really help. that entire area is dotted with tech park buildings.) (BTW, have you done the haunted trails yet Scott?)

  36. Zuzax says:

    I didn’t realize Initech moved to Austin after the fire.

  37. Boanerges says:

    No, that’s not the bird of your impending doom, that’s EA’s new mascot.
    Wait, they’re the same? Never mind…

  38. hitnrun says:

    He’s working on the Judge Mathis prison rape game. Confirmed.

  39. sinij says:

    hitnrun :
    He’s working on the Judge Mathis prison rape game. Confirmed.

    Lum would find a way to make Prison Rape game into PvE co-op group experience.

  40. Hatch says:

    sinij :

    Lum would find a way to make Prison Rape game into PvE co-op group experience.

    Patch note:
    When zoning into John’s grotto users will now see the goatse load screen in proper resolution

  41. Chris F says:

    Shoot it.

    Just in time for Easter dinner!

  42. Briancj says:

    Zuzax :
    I didn’t realize Initech moved to Austin after the fire.

    Office Space was filmed, mostly, in Austin. So, they really didn’t move here, just relocated to another office complex. 😉

  43. RichVR says:

    What a coincidence that both shots have the bird in the same exact pose. Cummon. Is that a stuffed bird?

  44. @RichVR

    The only thing it is stuffed with is hate. Hate for us.

  45. Hatch says:

    Matthew Weigel :
    @RichVR
    The only thing it is stuffed with is hate. Hate for us.

    They don’t hate us, we’re just a breakdown during a long trip away from being food for them!

  46. Belsameth says:

    So I guess whomever misses a deadline or milestine will feed it then?

  47. Hatch says:

    Man, it’s been a week since he put up an update. Maybe Lum fed the vultures himself.

  48. EpicSquirt says:

    @Hatch
    Haha, that’s what I just thought.

