Marketing War Is Everywhere

Blizzard can stop advertising in addons, but they can’t stop it on websites!

picture-1picture-2picture-3“Hey, I like games with orcs. This game has orcs! Sign me up!”

45 Responses to Marketing War Is Everywhere

  1. sinij says:

    I still think that preventing others from advertising in your game is the right thing to do.

    Now above is a very clear example as to why you want to maintain your community and message boards… so your competitors can’t pull something like this on your game’s primary message boards.

    Imagine… Patch 3.1 notes were brought to you by X, where rogues are still viable. Join X today, say no to Nerfs!

  2. Arkenor says:

    That’s karma. They pulled the same stunt themselves in reverse a while ago.

    http://www.arksark.org/blog/2008/10/20/the-warhammer-online-wikia-rethemed-to-promote-wow/

  3. Soulflame says:

    Too bad that WAR starts dragging around level 6, and only gets worse from there.

  4. Angelworks says:

    Soulflame :
    Too bad that WAR starts dragging around level 6, and only gets worse from there.

    I found the same thing – the 10 day trial was enough for me to decide not to play it.

  5. Bonedead says:

    Man that is great stuff.

    Oh and if you tried to play WAR by PvEing, you’re doing it wrong.

  6. markalot says:

    Level 6? You should just be starting to have fun in the scenarios and open RvR.

    It does start to drag at higher levels, that’s where I bailed, but level 6?

    I like the idea Mythic is advertising, more people make the game more fun.

  7. Votan says:

    “Hey, I like games with orcs. This game has orcs! Sign me up!”

    Not all orcs are made equally and in this case the orcs are riding on the short bus taking them to the School of Bad Design.

  8. Lorekeep says:

    I think the ultimate coup de grace would be to have Warhammer Online advertise on this blog.

  9. Karthis says:

    Lol – hilarious. =) Although Blizz made the right move here – allowing in-game ads/charging for add-ons was a very slippery slope. If more popular add-on developers had jumped on the bandwagon, running a nice UI could have quickly gotten expensive.

    As for WAR – I just finished up my 10 day trial last night. Did about an even mix of PvP-oriented activities and PvE. I’d subscribe if I didn’t need to first buy the actual game….. it’s worth a month or two of my cash, but not at box price + subscription fees. (Even with 1 month thrown in)

  10. hellfire says:

    I can’t see that as anything but comedy gold, really. If Blizzard had a bug up their ass about *external* adverting they could easily buy out every notable WoW-centric site on earth. Presumably most people at Blizzard who don’t work in the marketing/PR areas are having a great laugh at the whole thing. I know I sure would be.

  11. tannenburg says:

    Orcs are fungus.

    True story.

    Fungus!

  12. EpicSquirt says:

    So WoW and Warhammer are identically shit and because of that we have cross-over-adverts?

    Synergy.

    I’m not sure what’s worse, playing WoW/Warhammer or bloging about it?

  13. Anjin says:

    I saw this when I was looking up Grobbulus for my first Naxx run. (I know, I know.) It was so surprising, I almost aspirated my Coke Zero.

  14. Mercury says:

    I was halfway through composing my “Jennings, you are an ass, wowhead.com has never advertised for Warhammer” response…

    And then I thought I’d fact-check it.

    W… t… f… ?

    Does this mean using Wowhead’s data collector add-on is now forbidden? 😉

  15. Gx1080 says:

    The veredict is: Blizzard completely deserve it.

    Evidence A:
    http://wnw.blogwarhammer.net/2009/03/13/revenge-get-it-while-its-still-cold/

    And yes the Orcs are fungus.

  16. Tesh says:

    Lorekeep :
    I think the ultimate coup de grace would be to have Warhammer Online advertise on this blog.

    Darkfall ads would be better. 😉

  17. Athryn says:

    It’s annoying, my ad blocking software won’t block them either. I had enough of WAR in the beta.

  18. Mist says:

    http://www.wowhead.com/?forums&topic=83974

    14 page thread of wowhead users complaining that they’ll use other sites if they don’t take down WAR ads.

  19. Mist says:

    This blog could use some ads. The EVE ones are pretty.

  20. hitnrun says:

    hitnrun :

    Mist :
    http://www.wowhead.com/?forums&topic=83974
    14 page thread of wowhead users complaining that they’ll use other sites if they don’t take down WAR ads.

    Epic thread. I love the comments that assert “you shouldn’t run WAR ads on a WoW site,” and then when asked what kind of ads would make sense to run on a site where everyone already owns WoW, they respond, basically, “you shouldn’t run any ads on a WoW site!”

    Also, the empty threats to use a different site are hilarious. If you had any willpower or pride, you wouldn’t still be playing WoW.
    Click to Edit  (4 minutes and 51 seconds)

  21. Freakazoid says:

    Karma is the best. When it works, at least.

    I would also like to see ads that specifically point out their competitors inability to balance classes. Even if it weren’t effective (I think it would, because I always have a bug up my ass about class balance!), it would still be great debate/trolling material.

  22. Belsameth says:

    Mist :
    This blog could use some ads. The EVE ones are pretty.

    Even is a nice game too and worthy of some advertising here 😀

    Also, lol @ the adds. Revenge is a dish best served cold…

  23. It’s smart to buy ads 🙂

  24. Caleb says:

    I wish I had waited for the free trial and not sprung for WAR. The game just reaches a point where…it isn’t fun. At least in WoW you don’t realize you aren’t having fun until you are WAY invested into the game. WAR just seems to say “Hey, by the way, check your enjoyment at the door, we don’t do that here”.

    Tier 1 in WAR is REALLY fun! Tier 2…is kinda fun…and then they can’t even break the “Is it worth doing this?” barrier after that…

  25. Jeff says:

    markalot :
    Level 6? You should just be starting to have fun in the scenarios and open RvR.
    It does start to drag at higher levels, that’s where I bailed, but level 6?
    I like the idea Mythic is advertising, more people make the game more fun.

    I personally found in tier three is when a lot of the class imbalances really start slapping you in the face. When a couple Knights of the Blazing Sun can’t get near three unprotected Goblin Shaman’s because they are being AOE knock back spammed, you have issues. A Knight of the Blazing Sun should never feel like a Knight of the Blazing Ping Pong Ball.

  26. IainC says:

    The font geek in me notes that the WAR ads for the 10 day trial are using Copperplate Gothic Bold which was the main font used in Diablo II.

  27. Jeff says:

    Robert Howarth :
    It’s smart to buy ads

    True it is.

    But I would argue it is smarter to finish a game before you release it. Then you wouldn’t be in the position of begging one million people to come back.

  28. Sanya says:

    Caleb :
    At least in WoW you don’t realize you aren’t having fun until you are WAY invested into the game.

    After years of reading player feedback, I know what you are trying to say, and even agree. Your actual words read literally are, besides the whole “being photoshopped onto fascists and farm animals” thing, why most people would rather drink a frosty mug of their own pee than do community work.

  29. Einherjer says:

    Jeff :
    True it is.
    But I would argue it is smarter to finish a game before you release it. Then you wouldn’t be in the position of begging one million people to come back.

    Care to give one example of a finished game at realease?
    Most MMO fanboism is akin to religion: immune to reality checks and based on a subjective view of things that some try to pass as facts.
    Example: “WoW had a flawless release” and “Earth is 6000 years old and we descend from Adam and Eve.”

  30. Mercury says:

    The ads are already gone from wowhead.com. Still going on wowwiki.com and wowinterface.com.

    I do like the animated sword stabbing into the “Bored to death with PVE?” text. Regardless of either game’s actual strengths, it’s funny to see EA taking a potshot the common WoW gripe.

  31. Adam says:

    “Care to give one example of a finished game at realease?”

    I know based on your posting history that you *really* don’t like WoW, but, uh…WoW really did have a polished game on release and a very smooth release process. Since I actually played it from day one (did you?), I can say that there were virtually no server issues or downtime, virtually no bugs and certainly no gamebreaking ones, a very enjoyable leveling experience, endgame content already implemented, etc. For whatever flaws it may have, compare its release to basically…any other MMO release ever.

  32. Topknot says:

    “I’m not sure what’s worse, playing WoW/Warhammer or bloging about it?”

    lol – the irony

  33. Einherjer says:

    @Adam

    Yep. As I said. Pure religion. The ‘virtually no bugs and certainly no game breaking ones’ is a big umbrella and you can fit all you want in there.
    WoW had gameplay bugs, graphical bugs, server sizing issues, long queues, etc. If they were game breaking or not depends on you mileage.

    But that can be considered a good launch. I do however hate the fact that WoW fanbois now say it was flawless while other MMO’s with the same kind of issues are flamed as “unpolished”. Speaking of which that expression is fast becoming annoying. Catering to the lowest common denominator in any sense is now “polish”. I bet i can do a very polished tic-tac-toe…

    And i don’t like WoW ANYMORE. I prolly played WoW more than the average wow-is-god fanboi. But when the milk goes sour, it’s time to move on. Nevertheless WoW is still a good subject for blog/forum PvP. 🙂

  34. Dirk says:

    @Adam

    You must have played a different WoW than I played. I played on Doomhammer and it was rightfully called “Downhammer” or Laghammer in the early days. I know the first 6 months weren’t 1999-EQ-bad but still, not exactly flawless as you imply.

    edit: sorry it was more than Adam saying this, jeff as well. didn’t want to point fingers the wrong way!

  35. Brent Michael Krupp says:

    I think this just makes Warhammer look INCREDIBLY pathetic and would make most people think the game must suck and be failing if they have to resort to advertising on sites for a competing game.

  36. Adam says:

    Dirk, I guess we must have had different experiences then. I know there were several servers (Archimonde comes to mind) where a lot of guilds planned before release to start on, and as a result they were terribly overcrowded. So…a lot of guilds moved. And dozens of new servers opened to balance the load. I’m sorry that people were too stubborn to take advantage of them after it was clear on day 3 they should have. My particular server never had a queue or any noticable downtime, and my friends on other servers that I talked to had similar experiences. Your mileage apparently varied.

    As for Ein, it’s rather difficult to have an intelligent discussion with someone who thinks using the term “fanboi” (for a game I don’t even play) multiple times in a post is the way to go. It’s clear you have an axe to grind, and so I’ll leave you be.

  37. Einherjer says:

    @Brent Michael Krupp

    But is Warhammer as pathetic as WoW when they did the same on a Warhammer Wikia? Is your head up your arse that far?

  38. IainC says:

    Brent Michael Krupp :
    I think this just makes Warhammer look INCREDIBLY pathetic and would make most people think the game must suck and be failing if they have to resort to advertising on sites for a competing game.

    It’s the best place to advertise. There’s little point in advertising on sites for your own game after all.

  39. Iconic says:

    Seems pretty smart to me. Also pretty funny.

    @Dirk: I play(ed) on Downhammer as well.

    The launch for WOW was much better than anything that came before, but any one who says it was flawless or that the game was in any way “finished” at release is drinking the Kool-Aid.

    If Blizzard launched another MMO today with the same kind of launch that WOW had, they’d get slammed for it, even if people ultimately forgot about it within a month or two.

  40. […] considering WoW did the same on HammerWiki before the release of Wrath of the Leech King. Broken Toys brought to my attention that not only was the ad on WoWWiki but also on WoW Interface and massive database site Wowhead. […]

  41. Dirk says:

    its also tough to say ‘well then change servers”. they didnt do that in the first 6 months iirc, it was more like 1+ years when they offered moves on high pop servers.

    Not only that, but the cluster Doomhammer was on was particularly bad hardware-wise (again, as I rememebr it) and they had serious outages and just being down for hours on end. And for that all we got was a free day or 2, no options to move until later when the server was sooo crowded they hadnt much choice.

    this happens on every single game; people forget the BS the first few weeks/months were at launch, and for whatever reason, they claim it was better than the next game that people are talking about.

  42. Snafzg says:

    IainC :

    Brent Michael Krupp :
    I think this just makes Warhammer look INCREDIBLY pathetic and would make most people think the game must suck and be failing if they have to resort to advertising on sites for a competing game.

    It’s the best place to advertise. There’s little point in advertising on sites for your own game after all.

    Uh, what he said. That’s how advertising works, sir. You either advertise to a general audience (TV, radio, general gaming sites) or a targeted audience (players of other MMOs). Since WoW boasts the biggest audience, it’s smart to aim your ads directly to them…

  43. Korak says:

    The best takeover would be seeing Darkfall Online advertised on Brokentoys. Call me when that happens.

    “Knights of Blazing Sun shouldn’t be playing pingball between 3 shamans.” Um, you’re not suppose to be able to solo 3 people. [b]Any[/b] three people of equal skill. That actually sounds pretty balanced if so.

  44. EpicSquirt says:

    Mythic and balance, liberal pope next.

  45. Grimjakk says:

    @Iconic
    Y’know, I thought the launch for DAOC was probably the smoothest I’ve ever seen.

    Certainly better than anything I’ve seen since, anyway.

