Necromonger Delenda Est

Vin Diesel (yes… that Vin Diesel) talks to Destructoid about his gaming studio’s secret project, Barca B.C., where you can… uh…

“The reason why it’s my dream game is because it is an MMO and — remember you said funds were not an issue in this scenario, this is obviously a hugely expensive game — but, it’s a massively multiplayer online game where you create an avatar that lives in the reality of Hannibal Barca, the Punic Wars and life 200 B.C,”

OK, no one is allowed to mock any of the ideas I come up with for MMOs ever again.

“When we talk about dream case scenarios, man, I would love to play as a Carthaginian soldier 200 years before Christ. Sailing around the Mediterranean, that’d be pretty damn cool. If you could add some historical elements to it, the better.”

(and, uh, that sounds really freakin’ cool.)

28 Responses to Necromonger Delenda Est

  1. IainC says:

    Nerf elephants IMO

  2. Vetarnias says:

    Yeah, it does sound cool.

    But weren’t you the one writing about the curse that seems to surround every Ancient Rome MMO project?

  3. Bodak says:

    I’m waiting for the Paleolithic MMO. No vendors, no auction, no banks, no fancy armor or weapons. Just you and your tribe/clan surviving and cooperating, hunting/gathering, crafting, exploring the world, trading with other groups, etc. Back to basics.

  4. GTB says:

    Seriously, I originally thought Diesel’s “I’m totally a nerd, just like all of you!” thing was a marketing ploy to appeal to his movie’s target demographic, but now i’m starting to think maybe I want to hang out with him and like.. play some L4D or something.

    Weird.

  5. Daniel says:

    Sarcasm aside, I do think its a cool idea. But so many “cool” ideas fail in point of execution.

    We’ll see.

  6. Owain says:

    I’m not sure why the original post was being so snarky. I think this would be a good game in that it simplifies the balancing problems you get so frequently in MMOs, particularly when you add spell casters.

    Here, I imagine you for pvp/pve you could become a swordsman, a spearman, an archer, and other such historical skill types (skills, not classes, please). You could form city states, and Athens could go to war with Sparta, or their player equivalents. Navel warfare with Triemes and ramming tactics. If you conquer a rival city, maybe the defeated players have to serve a period of time as galley slaves.

    Is this really such a bad idea?

  7. tannenburg says:

    “Romanes eunt domus? People called Romans, they go, the house?”

    “It says Romans Go Home.”

    “No it doesn’t!”

    Sorry, whenever the subject of the Romans is brought up I go into Life of Brian mode…

  8. yunk says:

    I think he even signed up for a 3 movie deal playing Hannibal. I’m not sure which idea is worse. one movie about Hannibal? sure. But 3?

    Vin Diesel a nerd? Ever see him in an interview? Sorry he’s not smart enough to be a nerd. He’s more like his character in Boiler Room.

  9. Arrakiv says:

    Well, it could be interesting, maybe. Although it is still a weird announcement.

  10. Bodak :
    I’m waiting for the Paleolithic MMO. No vendors, no auction, no banks, no fancy armor or weapons. Just you and your tribe/clan surviving and cooperating, hunting/gathering, crafting, exploring the world, trading with other groups, etc. Back to basics.

    This reminded me of an old science-fiction short story just now. (I just tried googling my recollections to no avail, anyway…) “In the future” people play elaborate games from inside their homes that connected them to other players in their homes (think holodeck meets internet… MMOs essentially) and despite all of societies advances and luxuries (or perhaps because of) the most popular one is set in Paleolitic times. Grinding on Woolly Mammoths for hides and food, staging raids on other players’ clans to establish dominance on a hunting ground, etc. Guy and Girl living together are detaching from each other emotionally and each finds themselves falling for a person they meet in the game. There is no direct communication in the game; just grunts and hand signals so you have no real way of knowing who players actually are IRL. (SPOILER ALERT… the people they are falling for are actually each other!)

    And yes, Vin Diesel is an honest-to-god nerd.

  11. dartwick says:

    Its an awesome concept if they execute it well.

    I have been waiting 10 years for an ancient combat MMO with little or no magic.

  12. J. says:

    Yeah, that sounds horrible.

  13. Rich Weil says:

    The hypothetical “Paleolithic MMO” sounds a whole lot like an abandoned MMO from FunCom called “Midgard”.

  14. Bonedead says:

    He must’ve sold all of those No. 1 pencils he was hoarding.

  15. Freakazoid says:

    Yeah, ok. It’s been “in development” for three years and needs another four? Sounds like a certain game we’ve been talking about.

    And look at all those games in development for such a small studio. I wish I could hire a studio to put out my D&D campaigns into video game form.

  16. Raevhen says:

    dartwick :Its an awesome concept if they execute it well.
    I have been waiting 10 years for an ancient combat MMO with little or no magic.

    See, I’m different. I like Sparklies.

  17. Njal says:

    I can just see it. LF 80,000 more to raid Rome. PST to H4nn1bA1

    Oh and it’s not nerf Elephants it’s nerf the alps.

  18. Ibn says:

    I look forward to entire raids being wiped out because they were in triremes on the Mediterranean and a storm hit.

  19. dartwick says:

    @Raevhen
    Well fortunately for you there are about 1000 MMOs like aimed at you fantasy magic dudes.

  20. Longasc says:

    Fascinating idea. Indeed f***ing awesome! I hope they do it right!!!!

  21. Montague says:

    Carthaginian MMO? Fine, just please oh please do not hire Paul Barnett for marketing.

  22. tannenburg says:

    Nerf elephants? NOOB! Fix the Cannae PQ first! The loot that keeps dropping is for the Centurion class which no-one plays! Legate Varro is overpowered and keeps bugging in stage 3! Release the Spartacus expansion pack or I’ll delete my account and quit!

  23. Ardanna says:

    So this is the big hint for the super secret project you’re working on right? …right?!

  24. Syncaine says:

    I love this:

    “Yeah, ok. It’s been “in development” for three years and needs another four? Sounds like a certain game we’ve been talking about.”

    The one with the log in queue and the website that sells out in 5 minutes? The vaporware one with awful graphics that will never work? The one where you get ganked the minute you log in and then you quit and take your guild with you?

    Yea, THAT would be awful, more WoW clones!

  25. chabuhi says:

    Please do not make me like Vin Diesel.

    Boiler Room already brought me around too far.

  26. Nerd Rage says:

    Without bothering to do any research to confirm that my historical timeline is accurate, even though I suspect I’m off by a few hundred years, I want to be the germanic barbarians who sack Rome in the third expansion.

    Oh also, @yunk – I know some nerds who are actually pretty damn dumb. Intelligence is not really a requirement. (This is not me calling Vin Diesel dumb, just a reaction to the “he’s not smart enough to be a nerd” comment.)

  27. Iconic says:

    Dumb nerds are not really self sustaining, which makes them more “nerd posers” than anything. It’s not a road to happiness.

