Something For Everybody!

If you’re a “glass is half full” kinda guy: Warhammer Online released patch 1.2 today with a small paperback book worth of design tweaks and two new classes, the Slayer and the Choppa, melee DPS classes both similar in mechanics (berserker-style, hit things, do more damage, hit things too much take more damage).

If you’re a “glass is half empty” kinda gal: Warhammer Online finally released the two other classes that were dropped from the release schedule, still did not completely roll back the traditional last-minute XP nerf. But hey, you can complain about it now on the official forums! (note: currently down, hi Patch Day!).

If you’re a “glass is broken on the bar and stabbing at my neighbors” kind of person: Darkfall is up, sometimes. I think. The forums are down.

62 Responses to Something For Everybody!

  1. I actually read the post wrong the first time, the event that unlocks them begins today, but the patch itself is pretty huge.

  2. EpicSquirt says:

    Good one Scott.

  3. Delmania says:

    Apparently the forums are down for DFO because they opened up the store and were overwhelmed by people hitting it for orders. Where’s that Brannoc quote about limiting initial orders and the server being down?

  4. Syncaine says:

    You forgot, if you are a neon glass with rainbows kind of person, 3.1 is due ‘soon’, bringing the amazing feature of being able to queue anywhere for a battleground. Oh and some ‘ride a pony’ raid, because everyone currently loves the ‘ride a pony’ dungeon.

    Darkfall might be up, but ordering it is once again uber hardcore.

  5. dartwick says:

    The exp grind drove me from WAR so I guess Im a half empty guy.

  6. Jeff says:

    Way too little, way too late.

    It is still mind boggling to me Mark “Bull!@#$” Jacobs and Paul “Burn the Heretics” Barnett thought WAR was polished enough for release. This whole patch seems like content that should have been in the game at launch, and even all that isn’t enough to make me want to try it again. The issues go deeper than this fix. To spend as much money as they did, and have EA backing them, it is shameful, just shameful.

    Pro tip: Sometimes the “heretics” are right.

    P.S. More grind when the hundred pound gorilla of MMOs keeps getting away from level grind. Brilliant. Makes you wonder who really should have been layed off.

  7. D-0ne says:

    “STAB! STAB!”

  8. Abalieno says:

    I prefer Football Manager Online.

  9. terrarich says:

    Enjoyed the game on several levels, unfortunately the Tier 2 grind… grinded out my will to play and the scarcity of actual PVP.

    Glass is broken on the bar and stabbing at my neighbors here and back to Eve.

  10. DaveN says:

    Wow. You have to do a world event to unlock the two new classes. Once you do, they’ll be available in ONE WEEK. Then, available for everyone who doesn’t do the event a week after that.

    Way to cockblock content that was originally promised at launch, Jacobs and company.

  11. dartwick says:

    WARs lack of polish didnt hold it back. We MMO players are a surprisingly forgiving lot when it comes to spending our money – if the game works and we see the rough edges being repairs.

    WAR crapped out because
    -leveling takes too long
    -the experience feels too canned
    -the environment is depressing in the long run

  12. Rog says:

    I have to say, I’m agreeing with dartwick above, especially on the canned experience.

    I’d add that the PvP which WAR was supposed to emphasize doesn’t hold up, mostly it’s been large groups attacking Keep NPCs, or zerg versus zerg (ZvZ?). The best content was in the Scenarios, but a whole lot of us figured out that Team Fortress 2 does it better with no monthly fee.

  13. Mortarion says:

    Y’know, WAR’s at the point now where I’d be interested in finally giving it a try, but I’m still mystified at the lack of a free trial. I refuse to pay fifty dollars for what is essentially a one-month trial of a game that I might dislike after thirty minutes of play.

    On the other hand, there’s what amounts to $250 worth of “Tried it, don’t like it” comments above mine. Maybe lack of a free trial ain’t so bad for Mythic.

  14. fileplanet has free 10-day trials now

  15. Votan says:

    War crapped out because it made an attempt (and a very bad one at that)to appeal to the WOW base instead of DAOC and Warhammer IP fans. And they put out a game that WOW fans did not like and most DAOC fans hated.

  16. geldonyetich says:

    Personally, I enjoyed WOR up until about the level 25ish point. At that point, I looked ahead and didn’t see anything but wacky morale moves and tactics waiting for me, and saw a Tier 3 zone laid out pretty much identically to Tier 1 an Tier 2 zones, and realized I’d pretty much played it all.

    It’s a really well-balanced marvel with diversified gameplay and nice content. However, the parts that were uniquely Warhammer Online (as opposed to WoW) as diverse as they were, wore thin too quickly. Also, perpetually running back and forth between three realms worth of warzones while juggling PvE and scenarios was a bit of a chore.

    Also, the open PvP balance mechanic wasn’t well enough enforced. Got more Order on your server? Order wins! Got more Destruction on your server (more likely)? You guessed it – Destruction wins! Sit right back and enjoy, you’re either losing your home town or taking the enemy’s whether you try hard or not.

    Well, anyway, this patch release should give the game a much-needed shot in the arm. As for me, I recently resubbed to City of Heroes, and I’ll sit on that for the next for months until a Champions Online is released or a beta invite shows up in my email.

  17. Muckbeast says:

    I still do not see any hope for the oRvR until they add a third realm.

    Furthermore, I still do not see any reason to give a crap about any of the orvr zones. They aren’t anything like one’s homeland frontier in DAoC.

  18. Einherjer says:

    I am very happy with the patch, can hardly wait to create my choppa. And I can’t believe all the hate. Most of the critics of the game sound to me as nitpicking because the game isn’t WoW. I play the game, i see it’s flaws, i see it’s improvements and when i log off i usually ask myself: did i had fun?
    And the answer is a resounding YES. I stopped playing WoW when more often than not the answer would be: meh…

  19. Kaalinn says:

    I’ve never understood the “leveling takes too long” arguments. Leveling in DAoC took much much longer, and often included grinding the same mob for 5+ levels (Hello there, pygmy goblins.) yet I played the hell out of it. The same goes for crafting.

    Ultimately it was FUN. The grinding parts naturally did draw most of their fun from the great community DAoC was blessed with in the first half of its existence, (I cant vouch for the second half, not implying it’s worse here.) and eventually there was Darkness Falls to mix it up and everyone hurried there when control switched to us, breaking up the grind.

    It seems ANY kind of leveling is too long for people these days. I wonder if, if there was a game that had faster leveling than WoW, would people still complain? Ultimately for me leveling could be a lot longer than it is but it has to be padded out by giving lots of interestingly designed zones, some side-adventures and other things to break it up, yet this is what WAR does NOT have,which is why I could feel myself getting frustrated by the leveling from time to time.

  20. Jessica Mulligan says:

    @Einherjer: The hate is the ‘game outside the game’. What are you, some kind of hate noob?

  21. Drakks says:

    Warhammer was fun, for a couple of weeks. It just has no oomph to make it stand out and refuses to lessen the *painful* leveling process.

  22. Dirk says:

    Einherjer :I am very happy with the patch, can hardly wait to create my choppa. And I can’t believe all the hate. Most of the critics of the game sound to me as nitpicking because the game isn’t WoW. I play the game, i see it’s flaws, i see it’s improvements and when i log off i usually ask myself: did i had fun?And the answer is a resounding YES. I stopped playing WoW when more often than not the answer would be: meh…

    pretty much this. not that this patch makes the game great, it doesnt, but still is a nice addition to a decent game. besides, what else is there? I’ve played most of the rest out there (im not hardcore enough for darkfall!) but nothing is drawing me back like WAR still seems to do.

    Oh and the leveling thing? i started playing years ago with EQ1. this is trivial compared to most games. I dont get the leveling hate lately either, must be a WOW thing? leveling is easier if anything in WAR.

  23. Njal says:

    I must be too oldschool. I levelled to 40 in under a month and that doesn’t seem too grindy to me, quite the reverse.

    I’m currently not playing much because the oRvR is kinda meh zergy and flipping zones is quite painful and very easy for one side to disrupt by merely not playing.

  24. dartwick says:

    Actually Kaaliin – after the first 2 years DAoC was changed so you could be max level in 1-2 days played.

  25. Einherjer says:

    @Jessica

    Yes, well, i’m not going to take the high road here, I am as much troll as the next guy. But at least I try to keep my trollisms with a foothold on reality…

  26. Einherjer says:

    “Warhammer was fun, for a couple of weeks. It just has no oomph to make it stand out and refuses to lessen the *painful* leveling process.”

    Painful compared to what? Team Fortress 2? 😀

  27. Hatch says:

    Kaalinn :
    I’ve never understood the “leveling takes too long” arguments. Leveling in DAoC took much much longer, and often included grinding the same mob for 5+ levels (Hello there, pygmy goblins.) yet I played the hell out of it. The same goes for crafting.
    Ultimately it was FUN. The grinding parts naturally did draw most of their fun from the great community DAoC was blessed with in the first half of its existence, (I cant vouch for the second half, not implying it’s worse here.) and eventually there was Darkness Falls to mix it up and everyone hurried there when control switched to us, breaking up the grind.
    It seems ANY kind of leveling is too long for people these days. I wonder if, if there was a game that had faster leveling than WoW, would people still complain? Ultimately for me leveling could be a lot longer than it is but it has to be padded out by giving lots of interestingly designed zones, some side-adventures and other things to break it up, yet this is what WAR does NOT have,which is why I could feel myself getting frustrated by the leveling from time to time.

    DAOC leveling was fine because if you were enterprising enough you could have the best XP all on your own through the use of multiple accounts and PLing. I could cap level in a day or two easily and get right into real RVR immediately after that, spending my BP’s on the items and abilities I want. MUCH better model.

  28. Einherjer says:

    “DAOC leveling was fine because if you were enterprising enough you could have the best XP all on your own through the use of multiple accounts and PLing.”

    The arguments just get better and better… 😀
    Relax, pretty soon you’ll have the adverts for gold and leveling in WAR.

  29. Chacki says:

    Honestly , the leveling speed in WAR is very quick compared to some of its predecessors , i don’t quite get where all this grind is supposed to be.

    I gave up recently due to the non existent end game.
    The much vaunted City Sieges still hadn’t happened after 5 months on my server , in fact it was a push to get through a fortress siege without 2 crashes.

    The Polish just wasn’t there , and its to late for me to get exited about stuff that ideally should have been ready at launch.

  30. Dirk says:

    i get gold spam in the mail quite often in WAR, seems to be mainly 1 place tho.

    the servers i’ve been playing on have city raids fairly regularly, tho I havent got in one yet. I have serious alt problems in this game so my highest is mid-30s.

    as far as flipping zones goes, its been ‘fixed’ in patch 1.2 so its easier. I noticed zone control was more flexible.

  31. Bonedead says:

    darkfall was a dog
    i mean he was, a dragon dog

    but he was still DARKFAAAAAALLLL
    DARKFAALLLLL

    -falcor(darkfall) the urinator

  32. Einherjer says:

    “The Polish just wasn’t there , and its to late for me to get exited about stuff that ideally should have been ready at launch.”

    Develop some software project and see how much bugs you still have when you hit the deadline. Often deadlines imposed to you by others.

  33. tannenburg says:

    What do you people have against the Polish? Are you Belorussian jingoists or something?

  34. Kaalinn says:

    To be honest I hinge the problem with un-fun leveling mainly on the community, in more than one way though.

    First of all a lot of games prefer to have mostly soloable content that takes you all the way to max level, with maybe a few group quests here and there that you could just still do solo when you’re 3 lvls higher than intended. A lot of alienation happens there. My gameplay style has always been about choice, and lately the choice of mass killing (or grinding) with a group in PVE just doesn’t cut it anymore when it comes to the XP and item rewards.

    Of course I could just give a drat about those rewards and do it anyway for fun (if I would find 5 other crazies like me that is), but the actual GROUP content is THERE, only it doesn’t start before max level, so in the end it all turns into a race to the finish line. (WAR actually does a bit better here with ORVR in lower tiers and group PQs)
    But in general grouping seems like the inferior option, and oftentimes a necessity instead of a choice or favored method of operation. This is problem number 1.

    Secondly the attitude towards certain classes seems to have changed drastically. I’m mainly talking about healers. In DAoC my second character was a cleric, the be-all-end-all healing class for Albion (this archetype is something I sorely miss), and I reached max level in I believe 5 days /played. I was full heal spec and was grouped the entire time, and treated with utmost respect for being a heal cleric.

    Now in WAR , I have to solo as healing classes if I want any kind of decent progress, since repeating the same group PQ over and over just doesn’t cut it either, or people just run off because they’re faster solo. What’s worse is that healers are treated like shit, mainly by tanks that see themselves as above all criticism and perfect in their ways (you can usually spot them by their huge 2-handed weapons and the fact they will never guard a healer even if asked to). Again this has the feel of grouping being a mere necessity or nuisance, and the healer just filling the role of the slave that has to be dragged along, because of the outrageous design idea to make group content, and even dares to demand a share of the loot. By making players depend less on each other MMOs lost one of the reasons you should play with other REAL people in the first place. Problem number 2.

    It seems like due to a lot of players that aren’t native to the genre (because that’s ultimately what WoW introduced. If you’ve played EQ1 or UO you’re probably a much different crowd than those) demand changes that developers ultimately implement, leading to the wrong kind of “education” given throughout the game. That’s problem number 3. Of course you can’t design a game merely for the oldschool crowd. Because that wouldn’t be profitable, right?

    In the end I’m beginning to feel more and more alienated by the genre, with the last remnants of what MMOs used to be about found in the endgame, probably due to the fact that less people of the new crowd get there.

  35. Mortarion says:

    Robert Howarth :
    fileplanet has free 10-day trials now

    Yes, but… “This trial is only available to users who live in the following regions: USA, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Singapore”

    I’m sure there’s a reason behind it, but is that silly or what? WoW free trial CDs are practically given to the homeless these days, yet WAR can’t even have a free trial available in Canada, or even the UK (where the largest Warhammer market segment is)?

  36. JuJutsu says:

    “What do you people have against the Polish? Are you Belorussian jingoists or something?”

    LOL. Well done.

  37. Pickly says:

    Leveling often feels really unnecessary in the games I play. It just feels like a way to stretch out the game so it takes longer to reach new skills and new sections of the game. (Which may or may not be why a lot of people find levelling boring.)

    With me in particular, though not for a lot of other people, a lot of the fun in the game comes from trying out several classes and exploring a lot of areas in the world. “Just a day of /played” multiplied by 5-6 characters or so, is several months of playing to try and level up to get to try out all the skills, talents, and such. Because of how characters of a certain level are limited to certain areas, it also means that I don’t get to experience a lot of the quests, bosses, and such in the game, since I can’t go back and explore them later and not be overpowered. Again, I’m not sure how much the stuff in this paragraph applies to most people, but it probably applies to a few.

  38. DM says:

    I quit WAR because of the lack of community.

    I would log in, join with groups and basically get ignored. I am not even certain people would look at their chat log.

    A game that is basically a one player game does not justify a monthly fee.

    I enjoyed the PQs, even if you didn’t join a group there you felt like you were contributing to something instead of just killing the same mobs over and over for xp. But apparently PQs were not the most efficient means to get max xp so fewer people used them.

    But it all comes back to community. Everyone just seems too focused on the rush to max level.

  39. Drakks says:

    Einherjer :“Painful compared to what? Team Fortress 2?

    TF2 is pretty grindy with achievments!

    The leveling process felt uninspired and finished up to a point, where anything after the Devs took the approach of “they are probably bored by now so let’s just water the quests down to their purest kill 10 more of X form”, which made the grind feel like more single player-ish than any other MMO I’ve ever encountered.

    The public quests were a novel idea, but after the 10th one where an essentail class was simply no where to be found, thus making a certain step *unpossible*, most people just ignored them and moved back to their individual grinds.

    Mind you, I played a BO to cap in the first month so maybe it’s changed a little. I just can’t see it changing enough to make me give a damn. The game needs something to brings it all together, because it’s got a bunch of little bits and pieces that are really nice in and of themselves, they just don’t all get together and jazz hands at the end of the show for the big payoff.

  40. Sweetmeat says:

    I will admit that WAR had issues at start. It had issues after the first big patch. It’s still got issues after yesterdays patch. Low population servers, and having to move twice ( losing names I really liked in the process ). No initial incentive at all to go orvr. Poor itemization. Lack of endgame content. Terrible class balance issues.

    That said; I logged in and joined a couple guildmates in Tier 2 last night and joined two order warbands vs two destruction warbands in an ongoing 5 hour long battle across the length and breadth of Troll Country/Ostland that saw both sides repeatedly taking or successfully defending Keeps and Battle Field Objectives amidst a general running battle that let up perhaps twice for about 5 minutes all night long. It’s one of the most fun times I’ve had in the game, and it’s becoming the rule rather than the exception. In the past couple weeks Open RvR and scenarios in tiers 2, 3, and 4 have been full of people looking to advance( level, realm rank, and influence ) but also looking for a good fight – and finding it.

    For you guys badmouthing the game you tried a six months ago for a couple months, it’s not the same game. Some serious progress has been made in a lot of places where it was needed. They’re still working on getting those things still broken/un-fun fixed. If you quit more than two months ago, or really more than two weeks ago if you were on a lower population server then you literally don’t know what you’ve been missing. I’m not inviting you back. Your faintheartedness and poor attitude certainly wasn’t missed by anyone engaged in the butchery last night. But if you’re looking for a good fight, they are there to be had now, and that’s what I was hoping for from WAR from the beginning.

  41. Soulflame says:

    Ooo, now I’m “faint of heart” and “lack the proper attitude” to pay a company 6 months for a bad product. Whatever. Hope wasting all that money was worth it for the month or two you’ll have stable pops on that server, before another move/merge is required.

  42. Dirk says:

    well, that I do agree with that, servers need to merge yet again, because low/low on each side just doesnt cut it. and i’ve already merged at least 2x now. makes me wonder about the population levels. they went from a ton of servers (US) down to only 18 iirc, and still merging (and likely removing the ‘move from’ servers).

  43. Mark Asher says:

    What’s scary is that Warhammer has probably lost one million players. There is no point in trying to be like WoW, even if you are PvP-centric, unless you are going to be better than WoW. Falling a little bit short is like falling a mile short.

    Or maybe the ceiling for subscriptions for games other than WoW is in the 100,000 — 300,000 range? Maybe there isn’t room for a second big MMO with a million or more subscribers — the Asian market not included, because that is weird and I don’t understand how the PC baang culture works.

  44. Dr. Octagon says:

    Sweet, now all they have to do is make the combat system exactly like CoH/CoV and change the theme from Warhammer to Warhammer40K and I’ll gladly pay $15 a month to play!

  45. Einherjer says:

    “What do you people have against the Polish? Are you Belorussian jingoists or something?”

    Nothing agains polish. What i am against is the ignorance of people that never worked in software development who think software projects is like doing legos.

    The blizzard polish was crap at the begining and people use their rose colored glasses to say how great it was. And NO, you simply cannot compare a new game to one that has had 4 years maturing in a live environment.

    That is why that anyone who says that WAR has to compete with WoW as it is are idiots. Pure and simple idiots who don’t know what they are talking about.

    And you Lum, you should know better. Or was UO and the other games you worked on flawless in the begining?

  46. Mark Asher says:

    “That is why that anyone who says that WAR has to compete with WoW as it is are idiots. Pure and simple idiots who don’t know what they are talking about.”

    So you are saying that games that ship today are competing with WoW when it shipped years ago? Consumers don’t really care that WoW has had years to polish and this latest game hasn’t. Why should they?

    People are playing WoW right now. If you want to pry them away from that game, you either have to offer them a superior experience or an experience that is substantially different in a way they are looking for.

    With Warhammer you have a solid game that tries to be WoW in many ways, and offers up its own trump card with the RvR that WoW doesn’t really have. I’m beginning to think that the RvR isn’t really as big of a draw as Mythic thought. I think they topped out with about 250,000 subscribers with DAoC, and Warhammer looks to have dwindled to a number not too far from that. Maybe 300,000+ subscribers is a realistic ceiling for a PvP-centric game?

  47. Iconic says:

    “The blizzard polish was crap at the begining and people use their rose colored glasses to say how great it was. And NO, you simply cannot compare a new game to one that has had 4 years maturing in a live environment.”

    Really? Because Everquest had years to mature, and when WOW came out, it blew the doors off of EQ in almost every way. That’s why people stopped playing EQ in order to play WOW.

    “That is why that anyone who says that WAR has to compete with WoW as it is are idiots. Pure and simple idiots who don’t know what they are talking about.”

    This is one of the dumbest statements ever. No one gives a crap about WOW as it was 4 years ago or WAR as it might be 4 years from now. They care about how both of those games are right now today.

    By your logic, if a new car company comes along, they don’t need to make cars that measure up well against Civics, Explorers, or the BMW 3 series, as long as they measure up well against the original Model T. Because hey, all these big auto makers have had a hundred years to hone their craft, so it would just be stupid for the consumer to make purchasing decisions with head to head comparisons of current products.

    “And you Lum, you should know better. Or was UO and the other games you worked on flawless in the begining?”

    If UO had been flawless, none of us would know who Lum was (and he didnt work on that game).

  48. Einherjer says:

    @Iconic

    Don’t be stupid. Car making is not comparable to software development. And even then, some models have to be recalled for they had this flaw or that one. If you can’t grasp the difference in business models and production means, then don’t embarrass yourself.

    As for WoW vs EQ, even you can see that your example is shite. WoW was a EQ-lite with an updated graphics engine. At that time, WoW could just have a 3D world and a chat channel, with quests and classes to be patched in later, that they would have more subs than EQ.

    @Mark

    “With Warhammer you have a solid game that tries to be WoW in many ways,”

    Yes, people go to WAR with that mindset and when they find out that WAR is not WoW, they go back to their comfort zone. I read so much crap on what WAR is and is not that I beginning to suspect that most of the commenters are people who never played the game or played it for 5 minutes in the house of a friend. Most of the arguments here seem so superficial that that is the only explanation. Fanboi? Maybe I am, but if you are going to criticize WAR at least play the fucking game and point it’s true weak points instead finding 3000 ways to say: i don’t like because it isn’t WoW.

  49. Iconic says:

    “WoW was a EQ-lite with an updated graphics engine”

    … and a much better quest system

    … and a much better class system

    … and a much better way of handling dungeons

    … and a much better system for binding, mailing, auctioning, traveling, chatting, controlling your character, building your UI and basically everything else under the sun.

    What EQ had that WOW didn’t: Years worth of raid content and an already existing user base with characters that they’d invested thousands of hours in.

    What WOW had that EQ didn’t: Everything else.

    If it’s all just a matter of “the more mature game is naturally going to be better than the new one” or “people just revert to their comfort zone” then WOW should have been a marginalized product, like WAR. People should have played WOW, said “Meh, it’s okay, but I could just play EQ instead” and gone back to that.

    As for the car example: It’s actually a perfect example because the point has nothing to do with the product, it has to do with consumers. Product A competes with product B. Academic arguments about who was/is better relative to their time are interesting and all, but the more relevant comparison when determining success is who is better at the moment that the consumer is making his choice.

  50. Drakks says:

    Yes, people go to WAR with that mindset and when they find out that WAR is not WoW, they go back to their comfort zone. I read so much crap on what WAR is and is not that I beginning to suspect that most of the commenters are people who never played the game or played it for 5 minutes in the house of a friend. Most of the arguments here seem so superficial that that is the only explanation. .

    There are two conditions that can possibly exist for someone starting to play WAR that we care about right now:

    1. They have played WoW before.
    2. They have not played WoW before.

    Given the starting numbers WAR had, and their current sub numbers, I’m going to submit to you that WAR has lost both types. I also have a problem with your repeated use of the idea that people didn’t play WAR because it wasn’t WOW — because in essence you’re yet again attempting to trivialize the opinion of people who stopped playing: people who had experienced WoW and then played WAR expected an enjoyable experience that they did not receive, while people who had not experienced WoW and then played WAR expected an enjoyable experience that they did not receive.

    Note any similarity between the two?

    In my opinion it boils down to the simple fact that WAR didn’t do enough better than the games before it, or in it’s own right — which was a trend that has repeatedly allowed new games to dethrone older ones.

    Granted, I’m over-simplfying.. but still, the point being that it actually *is* possible to be a rational, logical, and intelligent human being and have played WAR and not liked it — regardless of your odd need to validate the games greatness for everyone else.

  51. Einherjer says:

    My “odd need”?
    What about most of the commenters here who have the “odd need” to say the game is not good?
    I am just providing an alternate view.

    @Iconic

    Are we discussing features or bugs? As for the rest of your comment, yes, everybody knows that producing software is almost the same thing as producing cars, so your theory is extremely valid and i stand corrected. *rolls eyes*

  52. Drakks says:

    Einherjer :My “odd need”?What about most of the commenters here who have the “odd need” to say the game is not good?I am just providing an alternate view.

    You seem intelligent, so I find it odd having to remind you that “not good” is subjective. You’re trying to argue the unargueable.

  53. Einherjer says:

    @Drakks

    Competely immaterial comment. I am just providing an alternative view to the “WAR is crap” stance predominant in this blogs comment box.

    You don’t see me arguing with people who say “I didn’t liked the game” but i will argue with people who say that “the game is not good.” Specially when they try to back up that subjective opinion with pseudo-facts.

  54. Drakks says:

    I didn’t like the game = the game is not good.

    A=B, B=A.

    We already established good is subjective, therefore it is based on whether or not the indiviudal making the claim liked the game or not.

    I reupped my account to take another look, as I am want to do, and it took me roughly 45 minutes to remember all the stupid little frustrations that drove me away to begin with: They *still* don’t have the UI bugs worked out, you still cannot change resolution and have it not totally fubar your interface. 4 hotbars do not scale based on screen resolution so I end up with 4 GIANT 640×480 hotbars on my 2560×1600 screen. I’m running twox8800GTX in SLI and video is still poorly optimzed causing my machine to slide show in places I swear I could draw shit in mspaint faster. The AH search function are still apparently being done on an abacus, armor models are still clipping my BOs head, the stupid flight path video (of you taking off on a dragon, designed solely to make Fp times take longer!, is still clunking in there).

    I mean, and these are just off the top of my head and I’m making myself stop because I could post shit like this for hours. I’m not a coder, so I am not appreciating the complexity of the code that makes the game work. I’m a consumer, there are competiing products, and this one is still sub-par by comparison in ways outside of just content.

    To me, I don’t like the game because the game has way too many annoyances. The core mechanics are all there, I just lack the patience and desire to ignore the annoyances when I simply don’t have to anymore. I mean, the suckfest that was annoyances in EQ was compounded by the fact that there were no alternatives. That was *it*. DAoC was a great game, and it seems to me that Mythic doesn’t get the “new game” pass when they didn’t seem to apply many of the lesson’s learned from that game to their new one, which btw isn’t new anymore.

  55. Drakks says:

    In addition:

    I went to cancel my account after logging out (not in a fit of rage, moreso so I don’t forget and get charged again in a month) — and I shit you not there is a 30 minute “general” lockout on my account from the management page.

    I didn’t flub a password or change a single item. The lockout, if I were a conspiracy theorist, is keeping me from accessing the cancel button immediately so that idiots like me will forget.

  56. Einherjer says:

    @Drakk

    “I didn’t like the game = the game is not good.”

    I dislike a lot of music that i considered to be good. Just not to my taste. Just like a dish you dislike but you can say if it was cooked properly or not. Of course trolls don’t do that “If I don’t like it it’s because is crap”.

    As for the bugs you mentioned, I don’t even know what you’re talking about. But, granted, I am on 1680×1050.

  57. trial is open to everyone now
    http://www.warhammeronline.com/trial

    Even smelly Canadians

  58. Alarik says:

    Drakks :
    In addition:
    I went to cancel my account after logging out (not in a fit of rage, moreso so I don’t forget and get charged again in a month) — and I shit you not there is a 30 minute “general” lockout on my account from the management page.
    I didn’t flub a password or change a single item. The lockout, if I were a conspiracy theorist, is keeping me from accessing the cancel button immediately so that idiots like me will forget.

    I had the same thing happen; no clue what was going on then. It didn’t have any problems when I came back the next day. I assumed it was server problems, but unless we both decided to cancel on the same day that’s less likely.

  59. JuJutsu says:

    Robert Howarth :trial is open to everyone nowhttp://www.warhammeronline.com/trial
    Even smelly Canadians

    Thanks for the link. Data is being sent to Canada as I type…

  60. Jeff says:

    Drakks :

    Yes, people go to WAR with that mindset and when they find out that WAR is not WoW, they go back to their comfort zone. I read so much crap on what WAR is and is not that I beginning to suspect that most of the commenters are people who never played the game or played it for 5 minutes in the house of a friend. Most of the arguments here seem so superficial that that is the only explanation. .

    There are two conditions that can possibly exist for someone starting to play WAR that we care about right now:
    1. They have played WoW before.2. They have not played WoW before.
    Given the starting numbers WAR had, and their current sub numbers, I’m going to submit to you that WAR has lost both types. I also have a problem with your repeated use of the idea that people didn’t play WAR because it wasn’t WOW — because in essence you’re yet again attempting to trivialize the opinion of people who stopped playing: people who had experienced WoW and then played WAR expected an enjoyable experience that they did not receive, while people who had not experienced WoW and then played WAR expected an enjoyable experience that they did not receive.
    Note any similarity between the two?
    In my opinion it boils down to the simple fact that WAR didn’t do enough better than the games before it, or in it’s own right — which was a trend that has repeatedly allowed new games to dethrone older ones.
    Granted, I’m over-simplfying.. but still, the point being that it actually *is* possible to be a rational, logical, and intelligent human being and have played WAR and not liked it — regardless of your odd need to validate the games greatness for everyone else.

    I couldn’t agree more. Well said.

  61. The Claw says:

    I’ve spent some time over the last week checking out WAR again, thanks to the free trial. I haven’t played it since release (I had a pre-order and thus was able to play beta and the headstart on the release servers, but I opted not to go through with buying it)

    The game has definitely improved.

    It’s more stable for me, I had a couple of crashes a week ago but none since patch 1.2 (touch wood).

    The responsiveness of the UI is still not up to WoW standards, but it is definitely improved, the global cooldown “flash” helps. Casting animations no longer get glaringly out of sync when your cast gets pushed back by taking hits.

    Adding influence to the open RvR areas was a good idea, it gives you an incentive to get into them, which balances out the fact that renown and xp gain seems better in scenarios.

    Crafting is vastly improved since 1.2, it actually feels like you can achieve something now. I tried talisman making back at release time and it was ridiculous, you needed all six professions to contribute to making a talisman. I don’t think I ever made one! But I have now, just using salvaging and talisman making, with vendor-bought items filling in the rest (I assume that if you do use items all produced by player craftsmen you’ll get better results).

    Monster AI and pathing is still pretty hopeless, far below the standard I expect these days. You can still frequently pull a single mob while his friend standing five feet away completely ignores you. And often mobs will run in random directions before figuring out how to path towards you. Or, occasionally, just get confused and stand there motionless while you kill them.

    Ultimately, I’m not yet ready to go out and buy a box to play WAR (I haven’t really seen it discounted in Australia), but I would be willing to pay a subscription for it, at least for a month or two to see how it goes.

  62. Bonedead says:

    WTB new DF post. Are you in good sir? Isn’t it great good sir?

