Let's Run The Numbers

The top 20 PC games of 2008, by sales figures (MMOs highlighted):

1. World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King Expansion Pack
2. Spore
3. World of Warcraft: Battle Chest
4. Age of Conan: Hyborian Adventures
5. Warhammer Online: Age Of Reckoning
6. Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
7. The Sims 2 Double Deluxe
8. World Of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King Exp Pk Collector’s Ed
9. Fallout 3
10. World Of Warcraft: Burning Crusade Expansion Pack
11. Call Of Duty: World At War
12. The Sims 2 FreeTime Expansion Pack
13. World Of Warcraft
14. Sins Of A Solar Empire
15. Warcraft III Battle Chest
16. The Sims 2 Apartment Life Expansion Pack
17. Crysis
18. Left 4 Dead
19. Diablo Battle Chest
20. The Orange Box

I’m thinking World of Warcraft needs about 5 or 6 more SKUs.

24 Responses to Let's Run The Numbers

  1. Ryan Meray says:

    Don’t dilute the brand!!!

  2. J. says:

    Hooray Ironclad/Stardock for Sins Of A Solar Empire!

    (Though I don’t know how many units you have to sell to be #14 on the top PC sales list.)

  3. Do it by Blizzard games and you can swap the only other mmos out for Warcraft and Diablo.

  4. Boanerges says:

    Of the top 10, 6 are MMOs. 4 of those are WoW. WoW is 25% of the entire list…

    Of the bottom 10 I don’t think any beyond Left 4 Dead (and maybe one of the Sims expansions) were released this year. I think L4D would have been top 10 had it been released earlier in the year.

    I think it’s safe to say that if it weren’t for Steam, Blizzard, and MMOs in general, PC gaming would be dead.

  5. Klaitu says:

    People say that PC gaming isn’t dead, but this list seems to indicate otherwise, at least in terms of box sales. There’s lots of suck on that list.

  6. UnSub says:

    Looking at AoC and WAR, all I can say is: that’s a lot of disappointed people.

  7. Merkwurdigliebe says:

    I guess all the bad reviews on Amazon didn’t hurt Spore that much.

  8. Toastrider says:

    People are still buying Diablo? I assume that’s D2… but how old IS that game?

  9. Alik Steel says:

    Klaitu, I think what this list indicates, Just like all the othere list out there. It only show’s that there is a lot of people out there, that does not know what a good game is, MMO or not.
    It allso show’s only the sell’s, Just look at #2 Spore. I even fell for that one. I put 10hours into that game trying to make myself have fun. Din’t work.

    As far as WOW, For sure it will be all over the list. How many people play the game? No mater what they put out, Good or Bad. It will be #1 every time.

    And No, PC games are not dieing!!! I’ve been hearing the same ol thing for years now. Yes I have the PS3, XBox360 and the Wii as well as a PC. I have more games for my console’s but I play more on my PC. So sell’s will show that the consol is doing better.

    Alik Steel

  10. UnSub says:

    If more games are being sold for consoles than for PCs, then consoles are doing better.

    One big issue is that there are about 180 million PCs that are gaming capable, while only (heh!) 45 million Wiis, 28 million Xbox 360s and something like 17 million PS3s, yet the PC is outsold on titles something like 4-to-1. Add in PC piracy issues and there is a reason why the PC is becoming the MMO, DRM and browser gaming platform and not much else.

    PC gaming won’t die, but it isn’t healthy. And Blizzard is so powerful it not only dominates the MMO genre but also the entire PC gaming platform in terms of sales.

  11. Mist says:

    L4D should have legs long into next year.

  12. Mallika says:

    Toastrider, the Diablo Battle Chest contains both Diablo I and II + Expansion. And Diablo is more than a decade old by now, heh.

    I still break out those two games once a year or so and go through them again. Hacky slashy fun. 🙂

  13. Merkwurdigliebe says:

    Actually, according to Amazon.com, the #10 game of 2008 was “Nancy Drew: The Haunting of Castle Malloy.”

  14. Dirk says:

    i’m surprised AoC sold so many…

  15. Delmania says:

    Odd, I had though the Warcraft II Battlechest was on this list. In fact, the only Warcraft game you can’t buy in the store right now is the first game…

  16. Zuzax says:

    Toastrider :People are still buying Diablo? I assume that’s D2… but how old IS that game?

    Guilty here. All the D3 news made me nostalgic and I couldn’t find my D2 disks anywhere, so I popped the $9.95 for the BattleChest. I imagine that’s what many others did as well.

  17. dartwick says:

    That AOC could score so high(while being such crap) shows that there is a market for an alternative to WOW.

    People want a new open world MMO – but they want quality content like WOW has.

  18. Cedia says:

    Boanerges :
    I think it’s safe to say that if it weren’t for Steam, Blizzard, and MMOs in general, PC gaming would be dead.

    Don’t forget BioWare. MassEffect did very well on PC and the sequel will most likely do just as well. They also have Dragon Age coming out in March. Also the Neverwinter Nights games are still doing fairly well, even though NWN2 is now done by Atari.

  19. wowpanda says:

    Once Starcraft II come out it will trump them all. I can’t wait to get my hands on it and once it come out it will suck all my free time from all other games, WOW no exception. I will even wave the 3 month period.

    PC gaming is definitely not dead. Just need some good games.

  20. DoubleD says:

    I can’t wait for PC gaming to be dead. I will not have any reason to have Windows on my PC anymore, buy outragous intel CPU’s and Video cards.

    So keep at it! kill PC gaming, and at the same time have microsoft scratch it’s head wondering why everyone has ubuntu on their desktop.

  21. Grinless says:

    Quoting Unsub : “the PC is becoming the MMO, DRM and browser gaming platform and not much else. ”

    Not a bad thing to be in my opinion.

  22. Ashendarei says:

    y’know, wether or not you actually play or are a Blizzard fan, you’ve gotta admit that that’s pretty impressive…

  23. The Claw says:

    Gotta buy a new Diablo battlechest every time your battle.net key gets banz0red for maphacking, right?

  24. Vetarnias says:

    All in all, a very depressing list. I’m surprised AoC placed fourth, less so by Warhammer just behind it.

    But what really, really depresses me is the overwhelming amount of numerals for the non-MMO titles, or otherwise games made by Big Names like Spore, and bundles of same. Think your typical multiplex in summer, extended over an entire year.

    The best games I’ve played came as a result of an “oh, what the hell” shot in the dark, or word of mouth from friends who had done the same. The games that made the list are there simply because they got advertised and benefited from high-profile reviews.

